We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hideaway in city centre with serene views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Stayed for just one night in one of the penthouse suites. It's newly opened and our room was immaculate and spotlessly clean. We had two rooms - a large bedroom with four poster and a sitting room with two cosy armchairs and very nice TV with wonderful views over the city from both rooms. Watched the sunset over the rooftops of Magdalene college which was rather special. The bathroom was a bit on the small side but well appointed and we liked the Elemis products. The king size bed was very comfortable and room was very quiet - a pleasant surprise given we were in the very centre of the city. We used the turn down service which is always nice. if you're looking for a luxury boutique hotel which is intimate and in a great central location then this is definitely worth a stay. Whilst there was no room service whilst we were there we didn't miss it as there are some very nice restaurants just minutes away, by the river.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annieba71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,408 - 2,414 of 2,466 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2010

This hotel has an unassuming entrance tucked down a side street in the heart of Cambridge but is definitely an über-chic fabulous, friendly place to stay. The hotel sits beside the River Cam and from its six-floor roof garden you have some of the best and most stunning views of Cambridge.

The Hotel is part of a group of buildings that also comprise ‘The Glassworks’ - the Conran designed gym and spa and beside that - the River Bar Steakhouse and Grill. This does mean that you have to leave the hotel and walk six feet round the corner to gain access to the gym and in the morning that is also the way into the restaurant for a very good full breakfast. In the evening if you want to eat in the restaurant, again you have to walk outside the hotel and around toward the river to the public entrance.

The hotel also lacks, at the moment, any public space. When we stayed the roof garden had not been opened but we were shown up on a guided tour, also a planned first floor bar had not been opened.

There is no parking at the hotel, but there are two car parks nearby and we stayed in a long stay for about £6-7 a day, the porter went each morning to sort the ticket out for us.

We stayed in a Fellows King Room, which was a very pleasant comfortable room with 4th floor views of Cambridge. Again we were shown round some of the other rooms and the Masters Penthouse Suite rooms are very impressive with ceiling to floor glass and those stunning views of Cambridge.

We very much enjoyed our stay here and the staff are very friendly and enthusiastic about their hotel, the General Manager Roberto even sits out sometimes on reception personally greeting guests.

Cambridge is an amazing place to stay with its colleges, university(s) and history and The Varsity is a perfect ‘Cambridge’ hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreativeRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatsM_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charli121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolewwhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruce87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,880 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
446 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $182 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing