We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Lovely staff ,well decorated room with free wi fi ,hotel was approx 3 mins walk from the city centre.We paid 245 for a double room.The free walking tour was great fun and the guide very informative. The service in the Spa and gym was also excellent.Breakfast was busy but staff were on the ball.Good value if you take into account all the free amenities and worth paying for the location alone.This was our first visit to cambridge and we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigelhunt w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,398 - 1,404 of 2,467 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

Surprised by all the positive reviews . This place is not worth 200 GBP a night, The spare toilet roll was planted on top of the toilet brush . Room was cramped. The trollies laden with linen etc sat out in the corridor/ fire escape all day. You have to pay extra for a cooked breakfast and fresh orange juice. You don't get your own pot of coffee and on the second morning i was given just one cup . Staff were running around and I was not offered a second cup. Checking out I was asked how my stay was and when I replied "it was ok" I was not questioned any further.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank oldhairyarse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Booked a room for the evening of my birthday with my partner. He had emailed hotel saying it was my birthday and about any treats he could arrange, but never even had a response!
We had been spoilt in another hotel the night before, for a similar price, so were very disappointed with what we got for our money here.
Clean room, small/ average bathroom (smaller than my bathroom at home, a small 2 bed house!), lovely view over the Cambridge sky line, good central
Location and lovely breakfast.
Bed not very comfortable and woken often by other guests noise, banging doors etc.
Also there was an air of snobbery about the place. We arrived in an average small car at the same time as Porche and BMW, we did not feel we received a warm, friendly or helpful welcome from the door men or reception.
Overall disappointed and 'could do better'

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank KLT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at the Varsity on a recent trip to Cambridge, finding the hotel was easy enough, and the location is about as central as you can get!
Upon arrival everything was sorted out easy enough, valet parking and check-in was done promptly and we were sat in the room having a cup of coffee moments later planning our day.
The spa/gym next door was excellent and the staff very friendly.
Due to the location, there are a plethora of restaurants to choose from, and the hotels own restaurant looked very nice, but was a little pricey for us!

The room was spacious, bed was huge, bathroom was huge (it had both a bath & shower in there)
We have stayed in Cambridge a few times, and this will be our choice of hotel from now on, it is clearly number 1 for a reason.

Any bad points? Well, not really, but if I was to be a bit pedantic I could say the shower gel/shampoo in the bathroom was not really enough for 2 people to have a couple of showers each, and maybe they could have put a few biscuits in the room with the coffee/tea tray.

Really though, that's just small stuff and I am pretty sure if I asked they would have brought more if required.

So all in all, highly recommended, staff friendly and very helpful, top class place!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staccato_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed here with my partner for a one night trip to Cambridge. There doesnt seem to be a huge range of choice for hotels in Cambridge weirdly but The Varsity comes out on top for reviews so we wanted to give it a try. The location of the hotel is great for the town centre and restaurants but is also a little bit tucked away so its not in a majorly busy area. Our room was really nice, clean, modern and roomy with a nice big bathroom.
We took a brief trip to the gym and spa which is next door to the hotel which was nice and friendly with good facilites.
We ordered breakfast in the room in the morning which was delivered on time and with generous portions.
When we wanted to walk around Cambridge on the day we checked out the hotel were happy to keep our luggage & car until we came back later in the day which is always helpful.
All in all it was a very good experience and the best hotel I have stayed at in Cambridge. Obviously the price is quite high but when you judge the difference in price with other hotels I would say it is probably worth paying the extra for a nicer and more modern hotel. Would definately stay here again on another trip to Cambridge.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hay-lo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Really well situated hotel, modern rooms with air con and very friendly staff. Restaurant is in an older building next door, with beautiful views over the river. Top class breakfast and excellent steakhouse in the evening. Used the spa for a wonderful facial and a gym that puts every other hotel I have stayed in to shame. Valet parking is useful here as parking is difficult. All in all a really good place to stay, would not look anywhere else. Well done.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The location is excellent, staff is very friendly, rooms are clean and modern but......all in all the rooms are very overpriced. I paid £180,- per night for a very small room with a very small bed (1.40 metre width), I expect a large spacious room for this price. You also have to pay extra for a cooked breakfast or a freshly squeezed orange juice. With this price I expect this all to be included. It's a good hotel but definitly not worth five stars. If I had paid half the price I would be very satisfied about this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Swaney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,881 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
446 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $179 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing