We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First night of Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

What a great hotel and location. We arrived on Boxing Day and the staff were all very helpful and pleasant and could not be more accommodating. We were upgraded to the penthouse suite which was a really nice touch and this set the scene for the rest of our honeymoon.
The penthouse is something else with use of an apple computer and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The balcony was very large and the views fabulous, with a table and chairs. The pictures on the website only capture some of the WOW factor of this room.
You have full use of the gym which has more than enough equipment to keep you entertained which is all the latest models of runner/rower etc. Breakfast was nice with great views but a cooked breakfast was extra money.
Be warned parking charges are extra and this I believe is normal in Cambridge, but the staff valet park your vehicle and this was seamless.
To sum up, the hotel is very modern with great service and an excellent location....wish I had tried harder at school and I could have lived in one of the fabulous colleges!

Room Tip: The 5th and 6th floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaz868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,488 - 1,494 of 2,515 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

We've just come back from a 2-night stay at the Varsity as a short treat for ourselves after the Christmas holidays and we loved it.

The first night wasn't amazing - the room we were in (520) didn't have a window that opened and in the winter the air conditioning will only heat the room. As such, we overheated before we even got in bed. In fairness, when we called down for advice on the air conditioning unit, the lovely lady at reception offered us to move rooms but we didn't want to be a hassle.

The pillows (feather) were also uncomfortable so we didn't sleep as well as we had hoped so we packed up the next morning and asked to be moved to a room with windows that opened. We then headed off for breakfast, a walk and a trip to the spa and by the time we arrived back at about 1.30pm our stuff had already been moved to another room... and what a room! They'd kept us on the same floor (5) to preserve the views over the city, but had given us an upgrade to a huge room with king size bed and two huge windows (one with a large door we could open). We've attached a panoramic picture which sums it all up - it was a really lovely room (520). We also requested different pillows which were promptly brought up, and we can happily report that we slept really soundly for the second night.

The views out of both rooms were lovely - ask for a room at the back and higher up to be able to see out over Magdelene college, Pepys library, Jesus Green, St. Giles church and the river Cam. The hotel location isn't ideal if you're arriving by train like us but for accessing the town centre it was really well placed.

The hotel staff were incredibly friendly, and always went the extra mile, including running out (in heels) to hold the complimentary walking tour when one of us was running a couple of minutes late. We really felt like the staff went above and beyond for us for the entire stay.

The breakfast was tasty and the continental buffet was more than enough for us without needing to order from the a la carte menu. We also had lunch in the restaurant which is great for meat-eaters but not veggies. We also ended up stopping in on the Saturday night for cocktails which we really enjoyed - the bar tender was really chatty and friendly, and we enjoyed the wide variety of cocktails on offer (we recommend not eating pudding and having one of their pudding cocktails - the nutella martini is great!).

The spa was also lovely - one of us had a treatment (the acupressure massage, which was brilliant - I regularly have massages and this was the best I've ever had) while the other used the gym (also great - quiet, good soundtrack and excellent equipment in a beautiful setting), and then we met up in the small spa after. We'd recommend it if you'd like to treat yourself.

We'd thoroughly recommend splashing out and staying - it added a great deal to our stay and we'd happily go back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back and higher up have better views. If you have a tendency to be hot at night, ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EllieandAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Sadly I didn't sample the full offerings of The Varsity (limited time available in Cambridge), however, the rooms and the service were second to none. The actual room was beautiful, large, well appointed, 'illy' real coffee cafetiere (rather than the usual Nescafé instant!), nice views (rather than amazing) of Cambridge and a very comfortable four-poster.

The staff literally could not be more helpful - even to the extent that the night porter will go and put a car parking ticket in your vehicle at 7am - meaning you can rest and not worry about anything other than relaxing in the above-expectations room.

I can imagine the spa and gym would only have mirrored the positive impression of the hotel side (despite not sampling them myself), but even checking out an hour later than we should have done (my fault for not listening) didn't present any problem to the kind and courteous staff. Overall I could not recommend The Varsity any higher. Thank you.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank enricosuarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

weekend in cambridge just before christmas ,hotel in perfect location to explore city, very festive ,hotel excellent,staff very good,and helpful,only drawback you have to go out of hotel ,just a few steps to get to restaurant, for breakfast which was very good,not a real problem .room well appointed and very comfortable, will stay again

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redheath123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night and found the hotel to be comfortable, clean and very convenient for our business in Central Cambridge. The valet parking was very useful and efficient. The associated Steak House restaurant was fun for dinner and served a fine breakfast.

Room Tip: Try room 516 - excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wmofrandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed here for two days whilst on business in Cambridge. The hotel was recommended by colleagues back in the US. Excellent staff and hospitality. The health club is well spec'd with all the latest gear.My room on the fifth floor was generous in size with good internet coverage.The location was excellent. I managed to some tourist activity during my brief visit.I would recommend this hotel for business travellers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koceksteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel I'm more than one occasion. The building is stylish and a perfect location for exploring Cambridge - it is also expensive. On my most recent visit I was unimpressed - a hotel bar on the roof that has run out of water (how can this happen?) and staff refusing to serve coffee to guests. Check out was chaos and I personally felt that it was inappropriate for staff to discuss a very expensive bill with a bride and groom in reception. Not great for the bride and groom to have to publicly discuss their bill in front of other guests the day after their wedding. Time for hotel management to ask if they are truly interested in high quality service delivery? I have had far better experiences in similar standard/price hotels across the UK. Style over substance in this instance. Varsity, your hotel looks cool but could do better.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Redcoachh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 37 in Cambridge
1,940 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#7 of 37 in Cambridge
449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 37 in Cambridge
960 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $159 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge
The Varsity Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing