We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff , very clean rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Helpful staff , very clean rooms.”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel and staff are extremely pleasant. We stayed there whilst visiting Kings college. Great suggestions for things to do , the river is very close by and the punt tour is fantastic.
We had a king room which was large for a city centre hotel , nicely decorated and all the amenities with in the room.
In the evening I used the gym and spa which was much bigger than expected, it was busy but i did not have to queue to use the equipment. The jacuzzi is on the river which is slightly awkward as people pass by. I did not try the hotel restaurant for dinner but the room service breakfast was excellent.Good hotel in good location.

Room Tip: Very friendly hotel ask them to organise a " to do " list.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 190andersonamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,409
    543
    255
    80
    24
See reviews for
306
1,319
80
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Went with my husband as a break from the kids. Luckily had a beatuiful day in late September so was able to make use of the roof terrace seeing the beginnings of Autumn - a magical view from there and the most breathtaking sunset I have ever seen over a city. Check in efficient and staff very friendly. Lovely room on the 3rd floor with a massive shower and stand alone bath. Had a blissful massage from the lovely therapist Faith, which set me up for the rest of the day sightseeing (well predominantly shopping! Much to my husband`s delight?). Cambridge is a beautiful town, the hotel really central, and really nicely appointed - will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I recently stayed for the Super Sunday offer with my husband which is good value for the money when you have a set amount for your evening meal in their Restaurant included - I have stayed at the hotel previously with a girlfriend. It is an excellent location for a trip to Cambridge. Our room was excellent very spacious and clean. Bathroom exceptionally spacious with a large walk in shower wet room. Staff were great very helpful - Roof terrace is a great idea especially when the weather in the evening is warm.

Room Tip: Check you have airconditioning in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaudNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The room on level four was well decorated but we was over looking the hotels bins! wasn't very pleasant! and was woken up in the very early hours of the glass bins being emptied.
staff seemed very friendly and helpful, but that is to be expected.
this hotel is for the business man not ideal for a romantic trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitehotwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Because you could face legal action if you write a bad review about them.

And that's what happened to my girlfriend when she gave her frank opinion about this hotel.

If you want a spa treatment, there's the sanctuary spa located at the Grand Arcade shopping mall. In my opinion they are larger, more comfortable, and offer much better service than Varsity. If you need a place to stay, consider numerous options such as The University Arms hotel. These hotels have much larger rooms and have far better locations. And if you are interested in the horrible experience I had there, you can read on. Cheers.

The rooms in The Varsity hotel are tiny (and I really mean it) unless you book the suite, and most rooms don't give you a view of the beautiful and historic city at all - mine was facing directly at student accommodation. As for the spa, my girlfriend booked a package here in May this year to celebrate my birthday. But in the morning when we were supposed to check in, the hotel sent numerous emails rescheduling and even cancelling our spa appointment. Confused, we decided to head to the spa (whose entrance by the way is separate from the main lobby) to check it out. The guy at the spa told us that all the staff had injured their wrists the day before (firstly, how likely is that to happen? and secondly, how professional are the staff if they can injure their wrists while doing their jobs?). And so my birthday spa treat was ruined just like that. Furious, we asked for a refund for the night's stay as well since the hotel room was nothing impressive anyway. We decided to head home to London. However, when the manager heard about this, he rudely told us that the reason why we didn't get our spa treatment was because we arrived at the spa late (???!!!!) and only sheepishly gave us our refund and apologized after we told him about the numerous emails we received in the morning. We left the hotel and my girlfriend wrote a detailed review about them. A few days later, a "lawyer" called and demanded that she took her post down or she would get sued by the hotel. She panicked and did so promptly, so as to avoid a dirty legal battle with a hotel that we will never recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
70 Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Loved the location and freshness of this hotel. We were able to sit on the roof terrace in the early evening which was really special. Our room was spectacular with huge windows and a walk through shower , I hoped that they were one way ! We had a meal in the restaurant which was nice, it would have been more enjoyable had the diners been taken to tables over the whole floor area rather than being kept into half the space and squashed together, a strange concept, particularly as we had reserved in advance. The quibbles are minor and about the quirkiness , espresso cups for your morning tea, a huge bathroom with a strange drafty but beautiful looking shower. An experience but keep your sense of humour.

Room Tip: The large rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dumble41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Great all round friendly service. Worth every penny. Hotel is located in the middle of the city in a nice area close to the river.Staff exceptional and facilties all included.Great gym, spa and delightful roof terrace. Breakfast freshly cooked with good range of continental options. We would recommend.

Room Tip: Go to the roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishersbanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,750 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
420 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Property: The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing