We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I need to stay here again :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“I need to stay here again :)”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I never usually write reviews on trip advisor but this hotel was superb . Great location fir te shops and bars. very welcoming and accomodating staff. The room was just fabulous! Can't wait to hopefully stay here again soon

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimkel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,387
    534
    255
    79
    23
See reviews for
300
1,300
80
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in January this year for 3 nights!
We won't hesitate to stay again. Lovely rooms great showers soft towels!
Amazing breakfast and the gym is good! Nespresso machine in room!! Cool idea
Parking us the only issue but they sort the ticket for you if you like
What a really lovely hotel

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Welshrugbyfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Having stayed for three nights at this lovely hotel we were sad to leave. No request was too much .The rooms next door to each other as requested were perfect for our family. The bed was extremely comfy. Every detail has been thought of.The coffee was exceptional , the room service is extensive and the breakfast top notch. The hotel has a great vibe and is in a great location. A really pleasurable experience to stay at The Varsity.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParkerFamily953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Visited Cambridge last week ,we were recommended the hotel by friends who had stayed there on two previous occasions.
Met at the door by a porter and our car was whisked away to be parked. We arrived at midday and the room was not ready so we wandered into the city centre. We returned around 5pm, checked in , our room was perfect.
After relaxing for an hour or so my wife went to do a yoga class and I headed to the gym. The facilities are well above what you would expect.
The hotel recommended La Mimosa for dinner which was also very good.The host being particularly nice.
Breakfast was freshly made with an unlimited buffet we thought the warm croissants were a nice touch. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Go to the roof top garden its amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearsonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here as a wedding present along with a meal elsewhere. Arrival is a little odd with the receptionists sat at a desk but no chairs for you do the same, standing up to complete forms etc. Love the look of the hotel and the concept, the lounge/bar is a little odd, people were getting very annoyed with all the cabinets being locked (understandable) but then having to ring everytime they wanted a drink as nobody there. Wish it was a little warmer when we stayed, did brave the rooftop bar but not for long as would have been blown off! The room was very nice, but sadly over the area where at around 6/630 am on Sat morning we were woken by the glasses being recycled and then after that stopped the keg delivery so men shouting barrells rolling!! Breakfast was cramped, service slow, not sure why a £5 supplement is necessary for scrambled egg and smoked salmon. All in all fine, not sure would stay again if I was paying!

Room Tip: Not over the service area if you want a lie in past 6am!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZ2010London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Got a complimentary upgrade from a Fellow's to Senior Fellow's room, which meant getting floor to ceiling windows and a balcony as well as more space. The room was very comfortable and clean, the bathroom was nicely-designed and fitted, and complimentary access to the neighbouring spa owned by the hotel was appreciated.

The location opposite Magdalene is very central, so this is definitely one of the nicer options for a comfortable stay in the centre of town. The roof terrace was closed during our visit but, when open in warmer weather, offers fantastic views of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights in April.Booked the Fellows Room, at £200 a night was expecting good things!We were shown to our room on the first floor,room was ok.Wallpaper a bit marked and ripped,generally clean though. Was surprised to see that next to our room was a 24hour lounge/bar!At 1am we were not so pleased with the lounge/bar being right next to our room when a Hen Party had decided to carry on their celebrating and were laughing and screaming!We waited to see if they would calm down and go to their rooms however they did not so we rung reception where someone came up to speak to them,which he did then joined in with their conversation,making even more noise!Not impressed!We did complain to Reception and they did move us to the 3rd floor-same type of room but quieter.Breakfast was nice however the setting was noisy and cramped! The seats were so close together you would get constantly knocked by waitresses and people going into the buffet!

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spanisheyes48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,714 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Property: The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing