We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The personal touch...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The personal touch...”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I have been regular visitors to Cambridge for many years, and our usual choice of hotel (which shall remain nameless here, and which to be fair has always been very pleasant) was for once unavailable - which meant that unexpectedly we had the privilege of experiencing the first-class hospitality and comfort of The Varsity. From the beautifully designed rooms to the roof terrace and excellent service, we really could not have been catered for any better. This is a boutique hotel with a difference: quintessentially English and with a special Cambridge ambience, but modern and international at the same time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenJ744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,371
    531
    252
    78
    23
See reviews for
298
1,287
79
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time and was just as good as before and better! Staff were excellent and room was perfect. Will be back very soon!!!! Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Love to location and feel of the place, nothing else like it in Cambridge.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnkim888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

After a wonderful relaxing stay at the Varsity last year, my friend and I chose to return again as it was by far the best spa break we had had in years! A fantastic, clean, well appointed hotel, with a super spa, fab restaurant and impeccable service. And all just a few moments walk from the centre of town with all of its history and wonderful shops. Perfect ingredients for a girly weekend - I just might have to let my husband come along next time I visit!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

As a regular visitor to Cambridge, I've stayed in a number of hotels. After our stay last night, The Varsity has become my favourite by far. Easily the best room we've had in Cambridge...... I travelled with 2 children and we were fortunate enough to stay in a suite which meant they got their own room. It was really spacious with great views and was spotlessly clean. We also couldn't fault all staff members. Everyone was friendly and acknowledging and engaging in all areas. Our young children felt right at home. I'd recommend this hotel for all, but this is especially great for families looking for a City Centre location. We will be back. Next time to make use of the spa facilities as well!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcolairomoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

From the moment we made the reservation to the moment we checked out, The Varsity didn't disappoint. All the staff we encountered were polite, conscientious and willing to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The rooms were beautifully furnished and the whole design of the Hotel was chic and welcoming. Our meal in the restaurant was outstanding, the best Steak we have ever tasted! The highlight for me has to be my afternoon of treatments in the Spa which were fantastic! The treatment room was beautiful with exposed brickwork and the therapist was friendly and knowledgable about the products she was using which is rare!! The location was perfect, within walking distance to the shops and all the tourist hot spots. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Lovely room - unfortunately no great views of the city - facing onto the back of buildings. It was a very quiet though. The staff at the front desk were very accommodating and welcoming and thought of all the little things that you would expect. Amazing roof terrace - shame the ice cold weather put pay to us enjoying drinks on it! Highly recommend the River Bar and Grill beside it - the lobster mac and cheese is to die for. We really enjoyed our stay at the Varsity and couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My first tip : if you want to eat at the hotel restaurant, book before your arrival as it was FULLY booked.
The restaurant has its own entrance and seems to be largely booked by locals.
It was a FREEZING day, and we were very disappointed when told they were fully booked. We were with our 2 daughters and couldn't believe we would have to go outside again to look for a restaurant.
Kindly enough they finally agreed to put us on a table by the door at the bar. Food was good, though a bit expensive! Shame we couldn't be in the restaurant, which looks nice.

Second tip : do use the valet parking! It costs 18£ and well worth it!

We stayed in room 414, which is a suite with NO nice view at all.
The style/decoration of the hotel is SUBLIME! Loved it!

The hotel is well-located. Staff at reception can be grumpy! We had some nice people, other much less nice.

This hotel would be much better if they had a bar. There is a place on the first floor where one can go for coffee and tea. But it looks more like a dentist waiting room! Not nice at all!

We couldn't go on the roof terrace bar as it was FAR TOO cold, which must often be the case in England!

All in all, I was disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Property: The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing