We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location, excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Lovely room - unfortunately no great views of the city - facing onto the back of buildings. It was a very quiet though. The staff at the front desk were very accommodating and welcoming and thought of all the little things that you would expect. Amazing roof terrace - shame the ice cold weather put pay to us enjoying drinks on it! Highly recommend the River Bar and Grill beside it - the lobster mac and cheese is to die for. We really enjoyed our stay at the Varsity and couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,326
    515
    247
    78
    22
See reviews for
285
1,250
79
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My first tip : if you want to eat at the hotel restaurant, book before your arrival as it was FULLY booked.
The restaurant has its own entrance and seems to be largely booked by locals.
It was a FREEZING day, and we were very disappointed when told they were fully booked. We were with our 2 daughters and couldn't believe we would have to go outside again to look for a restaurant.
Kindly enough they finally agreed to put us on a table by the door at the bar. Food was good, though a bit expensive! Shame we couldn't be in the restaurant, which looks nice.

Second tip : do use the valet parking! It costs 18£ and well worth it!

We stayed in room 414, which is a suite with NO nice view at all.
The style/decoration of the hotel is SUBLIME! Loved it!

The hotel is well-located. Staff at reception can be grumpy! We had some nice people, other much less nice.

This hotel would be much better if they had a bar. There is a place on the first floor where one can go for coffee and tea. But it looks more like a dentist waiting room! Not nice at all!

We couldn't go on the roof terrace bar as it was FAR TOO cold, which must often be the case in England!

All in all, I was disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

After a recent visit to Canbridge I had spotted this hotel and decided to pay a visit. I was not dissappointed. We stayed for the Sunday saver in the penthouse suite. The room was amazing, large in size with fabulous views across cambridge 2 external glass walls and large balcony. The room was tastefully decorated with lots of interesting features full of high quality furniture, toiletries and well stocked hospitality tray.
Our evening meal was included in our stay and we were more then impressed with both the service and quality of the food.
This hotel is a must when visiting this beautiful area.

Room Tip: We requested one of the penthouse suites with large balcony (613) and would highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We upgraded to a suite which was well worth the extra cost. Incredible views, clean and comfortable. The spa experience was not great, it is in serious need of an upgrade. The photos are not a fair representation of the actual spa.

Front desk service a little rude upon departure. We asked for a late departure and got a sharp response of 'no'. They didn't even check the system or our room no. Not very friendly or accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Spent one night here as part of a wedding anniversary mini-trip to Cambridge. Can't really fault the Varsity - nice rooms, friendly and helpful staff and excellent location. We used the gym, which is well equipped, and the breakfast was very nice. The valet parking service was very efficient, and a reasonable price given the difficulties and cost of parking in Cambridge. Our suite on the fourth floor consisted of a lounge, bedroom (with a very large and comfortable bed with quality linen), and bathroom. We did experience some 'machine' noises similar to another reviewer (these probably came from the air conditioning vents) and some maintenance drilling noises around 5 p.m., but neither of these caused us any real disturbance. The price of £225 was perhaps a little expensive but probably not too excessive given this was for a suite, and considering the location of the hotel in what is a very up-market university and tourist city.
Overall, we would recommend the Varsity without hesitation to anyone looking for accommodation in central Cambridge.
A few minor points for the hotel management. The room furnishings are excellent but let down by:
- incorrect hanging of the curtains -- the curtain hooks should be lower in the tape, which would hide the curtain track and stop the curtains dragging on the floor.
- very untidy cables and power/aerial sockets.
- thin bath mat.
- only one bar soap, a second for the bath as well as the basin would be nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this as I enjoy the beautiful view from my room. We are staying in the 'senior fellows superking' room. Our room consists of a four poster bed, raindrop shower and ceiling to floor window (which is the width of the room) displaying a picturesque view of Cambridge.

The staff are wonderful and cannot do enough for you. We were offered to be shown the view from the rooftop which we shall take up. It has been a very relaxing stay and my husband and I hope to return again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynSu007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Book their Sunday Special accommodation package so the hotel was good value for money. The reception staff were very helpful. Our room although quite small was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. The wi-fi was easy to connect and reception were happy to bring fresh milk to the room.

We used the valet parking service which at £18 took the hassle out of finding somewhere to park.

Only disappointing aspect of our stay was our room must have been adjacent the some form of machinery which clicked on and off during the night which did disturb our sleep, we stayed in room 419 so perhaps avoid this room if you want a good nights sleep.

Would happily stay again if we could get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Property: The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing