We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

In the main this is pretty much an excellent hotel. Our room was well appointed and the bed was extremely comfy. The gym and restaurant are located just around the corner on a side street, breakfast was lovely. The only downside for us was the lack of a proper bar area. Instead there is a ''lobby'' which is small and can become crowded very quickly. I appreciate there is a roof top bar again around the corner however this wasn't open during our stay. I should highlight the hard working staff who cover all areas of the property, a real credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheadleHulme79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,742 - 1,748 of 2,491 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

..though in many ways it feels churlish not to rate this as a 5-star experience. The hotel is lovely, the rooms are stunning, the staff friendly and helpful, the location superb. But it is expensive, and there are some downsides. I stayed 2 nights, and for the first was in a room which overlooked the back of the spa and restaurant. The airconditioning units for these buildings were right outside the window and were on all night, making the room noisy if the window was open; and rather stuffy if it was shut (the aircon in the room itself was also rather noisy, and I did not want it on all night). I expect some noise from surrounding streets in a city-centre hotel (actually, none to speak of) but find constant machine noise harder to tolerate. The staff responded cheerfully to my fussiness, and I was upgraded and moved to a quieter room for the second night. I also found the beds rather hard- but this is a personal preference. As others have noted, there seems to be a problem with wi-fi and TV/radio signals (many of the listed TV channels unobtainable with weak/no signal). Would I recommend this hotel? yes, but I would check which way the room faced.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a really lovely place to stay in central Cambridge if you are willing to spend a bit extra. We stayed here the night of our wedding and were incredibly well looked after. The rooms are large, spacious, and clean, with floor to ceiling windows offering an incredible view of the city and far around. Make sure to go to the rooftop bar as well if the weather allows.

The highlight was the four poster bed - blissfully comfortable! The food is excellent too, although their 'gluten-free' breakfast wasn't very impressive - just the normal breakfast minus sausages and bread.

Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the suites - worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed over night with a group of 4 girlfriends and had the most amazing time. Rooms are luxurious and super comfy and the food and cocktails at the restaurant were to die for. Right in the centre of Cambridge for shopping and then you can chill out with an elemis treatment in the spa afterwards - pure heaven. Thanks for making us so welcome :)

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jennleighruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Having stayed in quite a few hotels in Cambridge, this one is amongst the very best. The location is good, although parking is a problem. The restaurant is also good by Cambridge standards, and the service was fine, if not exceptional.

By far the best thing was our room - 613, Trinity, the penthouse suite. At the usual rack rate it is outrageously expensive, but they had a much reduced rate during our recent visit and so we thought we'd treat ourselves. There is a genuine 'wow' when you walk in the room and see the great expanse of floor to ceiling glass. The views are stunning across to St John's and King's. The room was also very well equipped and exceedingly comfortable, and it's huge; even more so if the weather allows the use of the long balcony.

The restaurant is a short walk and has a small menu focussing on steak and fish, but the setting is superb and our table overlooked the Cam which made for a memorable evening. Breakfast was also good.

The only downside was the parking arrangements. The surrounding streets are narrow and double yellow lines are everywhere, which makes the wait for the valet parkers a little unnerving as Cambridge is fall of parking attendants. We asked for our car to be ready for a set time the following morning and reminded them again in the morning, but despite this the car arrived 20 minutes late, and after others had received theirs despite asking after us. Cambridge traffic is awful, but this was outside of rush hour and the staff were not particularly attentive to this issue, which left a disappointing leaving impression.

I'd stay again for the Trinity suite, but otherwise the Doubletree is better value and in a slightly better location, with much easier parking.

Room Tip: As high as you can, and preferably the Trinity penthouse suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Awoke to mist and glorious March sunshine. Stepped out on to a balcony on which dew sparkled expectant, and I breathed the learned air. What a veiw! The cambridge or my inspired dreams. The sky inside my room. I could drink it all in from the comfort of the bed, if i wished. I could lie back and watch the world and think up poems: or alternatively watch TV and order room service. I loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mima P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is well located, close to the center (one minute on foot) and in a quiet area. The building itself is very nice, old Cambridge style, and modern from inside. Rooms are clean, bed are comfortable, but a few problems could spoil the stay:
1. The wifi internet was on and off, intermittent... Had to revert to 3G a few times.
2. Some rooms are located above a service area, where garbage from a near-by restaurant is collected early morning (7.30 am/8.00 am).
3. No mini-bar but a lounge open 24/7
4. Some rooms, belonging to the same category, curiously include different amenities: not always a bath but only a shower; some are smaller. Do not expect the description of the website to be reflected in what you actually get. Now I have said this, should there be availability, the staff will do its possible to offer you alternatives.
5. One of the suites is absolutely amazing, the one designed as a single space. Nice view (that means roof-view in Cambridge) - but rates are too high.
6. The spa, which is one of the main advantages of the hotel on its competitors, is OK - but nothing exceptional really. The gym is very nice, large and well designed; but the area with the spa and sauna is of minimum construction quality - more looking like a public spa than an exclusive luxury hotel. The treatments received, though, were very fine.
7. The restaurant was of fine quality; the breakfast was far from being exceptional, though, with a policy of charging every single additional item; the meal, though, while being more expensive than other restaurants of the area, was offering fair quality.
8. The staff has been correct all along; the GM is very professional and tried to accommodate us whenever there was an issue. One of the male managers in the dining room was a little too familiar with female guests.
All together, I give an average because of the disappointment between what was offered and expected and the end result. More objectively, if I was without expectation, I would give a very good - no more.
For my next trip to Cambridge, I will try another hotel. This was was "OK" - only, for an expensive rate.

Room Tip: Ask quiet rooms if you do not want the garbage service to wake you up. Don't expect view - if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Professor_Camel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,913 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#7 of 36 in Cambridge
447 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $158 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing