We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a get out of London weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stay a night or two here and you won't be disappointed. Loved the uniqueness of the decor - every room is individual and tastefully decorated.
We only stayed a night for a week recharge of our batteries and to celebrate my sister's birthday.
I must compliment all the staff, but in particular Suzanna who fortunately for us answered the phone whilst we were making our way by car here - we did not anticipate or appreciate how difficult it is to drive to the Hotel, and despite sat nav we ended up getting personal directions from her - she offered to stay on the phone as we manoeuvred our way through a busy Sat afternoon traffic, in fact she was wonderful and really went out of her way to guide us there safely. big thank you - its not often these days you get that type of kindness and helpfulness. In fact all the staff were wonderful and made our stay (short and sweet - just the one night) memorable and a secured a return next time we visit Cambridge. The roof top views are amazing and we enjoyed drinks around a gas heater - it really felt like -20!!!
Breakfast was good and although we did not eat in the hotel, if breakfast was anything to go on, I'm sure it would be of the same high standard. We enjoyed our spa treatments and chillaxed in the jacuzzi - had a good ol laugh trying to figure out if passers by can actually see in - (they can if they care to come close enough to the window) So I hope we didn't give the elderly group of elderly men heart attacks on Sunday morning when we all four of us did a quick flash!!! Loved the Elmis products in the rooms - only suggestion we would make is would be good if shower gel and shampoo was supplied in the changing rooms - luckily one of us brought these but we ended up having to share and also to a stranger. In summary a lovely hotel and would definately recommend.

Room Tip: Try not to get a side room overlooking the side service yard - It was noisy in the morning with load...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaghLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,776 - 1,782 of 2,515 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was lucky enough to spend the weekend in my favourite UK hotel with a group of my girlfriends for our spa weekend. The staff at The Varsity bent over backwards to meet our needs - extra beds were put in the rooms, and the most cost-effective room combination for our group was suggested. Dinner in their restaurant was as excellent as ever, and they coped well with our large group, both and dinner and at breakfast the following day. Excellent recommendations were made for bars and clubs in town. All in all, it was even better than the several times I have been before...not least because this time we got to experience the beauty of the penthouse too!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaKSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with top-notch service and a seriously awesome breakfast. We got upgraded to a superior suite on arrival, the room was beautiful (217) but I did have a couple of gripes. Firstly, wet room with no bath but with a shower head that only projects the water directly in front of it i.e. about a third of the length of the shower area, enough to fit one person. Bit pointless? In something like that you want to be able to share a shower; needs a rain shower head or two on the ceiling to make this make sense. Also the free wifi was useless because the signal didn't reach into our room. This said the decor was perfect, the price was good, the people at reception were so helpful and the spa!? That spa I could spend hours in. On the morning before leaving we went down to the jacuzzi and sat looking through the big window out upon the river cam; it was clearly a one-way mirror because people kept checking their hair as they walked past. It was a small spa with no swimming pool but there was nearly no-one there and it felt very exclusive and really added something to our stay. Also the breakfast is very worth it; huge and delicious full english, brie and ham, really good quality fresh croissants and breads. All in all a great stay at a good price and maybe your best option for central Cambridge.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lollingsgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

From the time of our arrival, and the warm welcome we received, to the time of our departure the staff at The Varsity Hotel were excellent and a delight to deal with. Indeed everything about our stay was absolutely first class, - the staff, the room, breakfast and of course the views over Cambridge from our room on the fifth floor. This really was a trip to remember for my wife and I who were staying at the hotel to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary.
In short, to Robert Pintus and all at The Varsity a sincere thank you for a wonderful break. We will cerainly be back!

Room Tip: We would recommend a room on one of the higher floors. The views from ours on the 5th floor were bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Me and my wife stayed for one nite for our 8th anniversary we had a nice warm welcome the staff were very very helpfull, the room was exceptional with very nice decor brilliant views of cambridge. I would deffently recommend the varsity hotel to any one wanting a hotel in cambridge

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We met friends here for our annual UK sight-seeing trip. Could not be bettered for proximity to most things on the list of places to visit. Our room was fine, ensuite a little cramped but staff could not have been more helpful from our arrival when our car was taken for parking until we left when our car was loaded. We were given a tour of the roof garden and no questions were too daft for staff to answer. Breakfast was excellent, again staff very friendly. Pity the restaurant was external to the hotel but space is limited in this lovely city. Pretty perfect and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreoJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

It is so refreshing to have such great service. on arrival we were warmly met and our bags were brought in and our car whisked away to be parked. Our room although not very big was clean and comfortable. our bathroom was small but smart, however the shower tray did not drain away very well. we asked for extra water it arrived at our room before we did ! we did not sample breakfast, however did have coffee in the lounge. I felt the spa area could do with smarting up as the sauna and steam room were a little scruffy. in my opinion the best thing about this hotel is the service, including the doorman.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOFIE51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 37 in Cambridge
1,940 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#7 of 37 in Cambridge
449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 37 in Cambridge
960 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $159 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge
The Varsity Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing