We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, beautiful views, very clean well designed room. Master suite penthouse. Terrible room service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, beautiful views, very clean well designed room. Master suite penthouse. Terrible room service”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the master suite, open plan pent house. Beautiful with amazing views. Loved the room. One of the nicest hotel rooms I have stayed in. We were leaving early on the first morning. 0600 was informed only continental breakfast at that time. Ok that's fine. Order breakfast for 0530. Arrived at almost 0550. With no milk for cereal. This arrived just before I got into the taxi. 2nd morning ordered breakfast might before. Breakfast didn't arrive at all. Called front desk. Sorry we don't do breakfast this early? I ordered last night. No sorry cant do breakfast before7am. But we had it yesterday? Sorry must have been a mistake nothing I can do.dinner ordered first night. steak and ale pie i think it was. beautiful, but was only a bowl of meat? ordered same again next night and realised the first might we had only received the meat an no rice , thought it was a bit light. room great service not so much.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgjemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,368
    531
    252
    78
    23
See reviews for
297
1,287
79
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
woodbridge
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Un accueil chaleureux ( warm wellcome) from Emmanuel a french receptionist , an amazing room with amazing view ! On top of that our car taken to a distant parking
by a "voiturier" and restituted at the end of our trip . A delicious dinner and a superb breakfast in its café. A quite reasonable bill due to the quality of the place its location and the friendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: the four poster bedroom is really worth paying more if you can .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertrand f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is the first time staying @ the varsity hotel. The lack of car parking had previously deterred us but seeing so many excellent reviews we decided we could deal with the lack of on site parking.
The hotel arrange to have someone go to the local carpark to purchase the days ticket @ 08.00 but as we only used the car once during our stay it was not a problem at all.
The hotel is simply amazing. We had the St Johns room which is virtually wall to ceiling windows. The views are unbelieveable. I come from Cambridge & it was fascinating picking out the various features. Looking straight down to Madgalene College & then along the Cam to Jesus Green - this room was a gem. The roof terrace is brillant, we were there on 5th Nov so enhoyued the fire works display @ Midsummer Common from the roof where the hotel served mulled wine. Going outside to go to the resturant again was no problem, in many hotels we have walked further from room to resturant & they had brollies by the door if needed! Resturant food was superb as were the staff. We enjoyed a wine and steak evening event presented by the chef & the hotel's wine merchant.
We have already booked our return trip for next year and cannot find a single thing that is not top notch @ the varsity!

Room Tip: St Johns is brillant..will always pick that one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed recently at the Varsity Hotel which was recommended by the Midsummer House restaurant where we had dinner reservations on the Saturday evening...It was a good hotel, located very centrally and within walking distance of lovely restaurants, shops, walks and all of the colleges in Cambridge. The hotel staff were excellent and very helpful. The valet service was invaluable especially as travelling with our 8 month old son. There was no babysitting service unfortunately but we were able to hire a babysitter from an agency for the evening. The food in the restaurant was straightforward but good quality. I would return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

For my first time in Cambridge I wanted to stay someplace where I could easily see the city. This hotel was on a nice quiet road but was just steps from shops, restaurants and the river. I was very happy with the hotel and its location. Restaurant was located around the corner which wasn't ideal but not a huge deal for me. The rooms were excellent. I had a large room with bed, couch and desk. I also had shower and separate tub in the bath. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabulousMissM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed in the St John's suite on December 8th. The suite is stunning, though the bathroom is a little small and ordinary, and there is a large ventilation grill *literally* over one person's head when in bed. The check-in/check-out experience and general front desk service leaves something to be desired: the staff seemed quite disorganised and we got some blank looks when things went wrong. The valet parking service cannot really be so called - the car was not brought out for us even though we gave plenty of notice (as asked for the night before) so we had to get it out ourselves. A turn-down service is included but has to be requested - so if you want this be sure to say so! For a £++ room it should have just been done, no? Breakfast was faultless and dinner in the restaurant was very good indeed. The roof terrace is gorgeous of course and we braved the below zero temperatures to have a drink while the sun set. They provide blankets for knees which is a lovely touch. In all we had a wonderful time and would stay again, with the above caveats in mind. The air con unit in the suite was permanently broken but we did know this before staying and paid a reduced rate as a result. We live near Cambridge so know the city but for locals and visitors alike this is in a great location for seeing and doing all the good things Cambridge has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucieC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We seldom book an independant Hotel for our Corporate events, however, this was a really good choice! The location, quality of the rooms and most importantly the hospitality of the staff was superb.
We will certainly consider The Varsity for our future events, particularly for smaller group sizes up to 20 people.
This is a really nice hotel, and if you are considering a small event in Cambridge, where you wish to have plenty of activity and variety then this hotel is the place to be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Property: The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing