We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous roof terrace, fabulous views and amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Very friendly staff - where nothing is too much trouble.

Our room was spacious and had a wonderful view over Cambridge. Super comfy bed, great facilities and good attention to detail.

You must check out the roof terrace, very comfortable and again an amazing view. Unfortunately the bar closes at 10pm - would be nice to have the roof terrace open a little longer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,984 - 1,990 of 2,467 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

we spent our wedding night and the night before here. Our room was lovely, service was very prompt and polite. We spent the afternoon before the wedding in the spa and loved the whirlpool bath - very relaxing. We had drinks and eats with friends on the roof terrace which was lovely. Room was very comfortable and the bathroom was tremendous. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We needed somewhere with the wow factor to celebrate our impending civil partnership. Of our group, several people had never been to the hotel and many were visitors to Cambridge. We had a champagne reception on the roof and then dinner in the restaurant.
It was a cold night and the staff were quick to give us some blankets so we could enjoy the view while we had our champagne. The whole evening was great. We had our own room away from the restaurant, which was perfect for our noisy group. We had the set menu, which was good, although obviously limited. This was to allow the group to be served at the same time. Food was well cooked, we all ate at the same time and the staff were very attentive.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank juggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Upon arrival on our wedding night we were greeted by the night porter in a polo shirt with a scruffy appearance, despite this were super excited about spending the evening in the penthouse suite, which we had seen on the website and booked over the phone. To say we were disappointed was an understatement!! We were given a tiny room and not the penthouse suite that we had booked 2 months in advance. My new husband went down to sort things out and was told that our room had been given away and there was nothing they could do about it. He then spoke to the night manager on the phone who was for some reason not on site,who said he would consider giving us a discount in the morning. We were so distraught at the substandard way we were being treated we left immediately and will not be returning. Such a horrible way to end such a wonderful and special day.

Room Tip: Don't book if you are looking for something extra special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank Taleala W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Clean , Modern , Hotel , Beautifully decorated with lovely staff. Good location . Restaurant and Health Spa good addition.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethowencheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I took My Grlfriend for a day away from busy London life, I checked many hotels in Cambridge, then I decided to stay at The Varsity, and I can easly say it was 1 of the best hotels I've stayed in. When we arrived we greeted by reception staff who made us feel very welcomed, then she checked us to our room (611), and wwaw, the best view you can get from any where in the city, Kings College in fron of you and all the history of the Great City was in from of our windows, the wather was very hot so that helped us a lot.

we went for 1 hour massage and that made us even more relaxed, the staff where so frendly and professional at the same time,

th terrace was very relaxing place to be, we had few drinks then we went for a dinner at The Steak House, and again staff where very frendly, the food was amazing, I loved the sirloin steak very nicly done and very tasty, will deffenetly recommend,

thanks to all staff for the best break ever, will go back very soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Very pleasant stay, checked in to a spacious room, with very comfortable bed, spotlessly clean. Went straight to the roof terrace to relax and take in a magnificent view of Cambridge with a cold beer - really special. Used the gym in the afternoon and my girlfriend had a massage both of which were great. Highly recommend Cambridge as a good getaway city, would definitely come to the hotel again.

Room Tip: Sunday package they have including evening meal is great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,881 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
446 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $179 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing