We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 40th wedding anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Thought we would treat ourselves for our wedding anniversary. All the staff really welcoming, my wife booked a last minute facial in the Spa that she loved, while I stayed on the roof garden and enjoyed incredible views over Cambridge - whole ambience up there really relaxing, she joined me a few champagnes later and we then went down to the Steakhouse for a meal. Food first rate and service once again faultless, friendly but not invasive. Thanks very much for a memorable trip, will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,999 - 2,005 of 2,469 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for an evening due to a friend's wedding. We arrived in the afternoon and on arrival had a great welcome. All the staff were so friendly, they went out of their way to welcome us and made us feel right at home! The room was lovely and although didn't over look the river cam still looked over the city of Cambridge. We went straight up to the roof top terrace for a few drinks (pre wedding drinks) and the staff were again very friendly and welcoming. I couldn't fault the place, room was great, staff were lovely, breakfast in the morning was cracking and we would both 100% recommend it to anyone else. I could continue and praise it more however my dinner is ready!!!

If you get a chance to go then do it!!

Mark and Esther

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We decided to stay at The Varsity for our son's graduation as it close to St John's and he lives across the road to the hotel . The location was perfect about 30 seconds or so away from the college. Staff are polite pleasant and professional. We stayed in Pembroke which was fine.
We took some graduation photos of my son and his friends on the rooftop garden with St John's in the backdrop were breathtaking. After a bottle of Taittinger we went to Midsummer house which was also rather special.
Breakfast was served in the building next door , plenty of choice cereals, cold cuts and cheese in the continental and a Fresh Full English made to order . Perfect stay. We wish to thank everyone at the hotel for a great stay.

Room Tip: Whatever you do make sure you go the roof top garden there is nothing quite like it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harpert_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Husband's 60 birthday. As well as hotel, had booked husband in for lovely £60 full body massage. Changed time 2 days before arrival. Did not feel full confidence with people on other side of the line - told them so (would love to think this had been taped). On arrival at said time at spa, found that reservation had (indeed) not been made. Really, really disappointed as this was part of some special treats and only time available to us.
Made our disappointment clear to hotel staff. Spoke to hotel owner who completely turned the scenario around to make it sound like our fault.
At 58 years old told him I felt like a child hauled in front of the headmaster! Not a good feeling.
Paid hotel bill in (£250 for one night) the next morning, only to be told by my son later that the hotel had suggested to him that WE, in fact had got the dates/timings wrong.
SHAME ON YOU VARSITY HOTEL !! That really is despicable.

Room Tip: pay the most money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbaraE e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Be sure to ask for a room that is not over the noisy bar across the street.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCGilfillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for two nights, solely based on its Number 1 ranking on TripAdvisor. I'm so glad I did! The staff went out of their way to be helpful - special thanks to Tariq for helping me with the car and for his friendly professionalism and to Thomas, who was an absolute sweetie in helping me with two enormous suitcases. The room was spacious and well-appointed, and the four-poster bed was a lovely touch of elegance. But for me, the undeniable wow factor was the rooftop terrace. The 360 degree views of Cambridge were breathtaking but the whole ambience of the terrace was just perfect. The staff even offered me a blanket for when it started to get chilly! Wonderful hotel, amazing staff - I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayanthiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I loved the fantastic view of Cambridge from the amazing roof top terrace. A relaxing drink while admiring the beautiful soundings of Cambridge, this experience is exclusive to the Varsity Hotel. Excellent!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
Thank 505Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,883 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
447 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $177 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel And Spa
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing