We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab room, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed a Saturday night in Cambridge to go to birthday dinner. in a college The dinner was black tie and on unpacking I found I'd forgottenthe actual tie. The hotel reception provided one in minutes. It's true the public spaces are not the best part of the hotel, but they are well kept, the staff are efficient and polite, the Spa next door is lovely, the Riverside Restaurant where you take breakfast is very well done, directly overlooking the river, and the artworks throughout the hotel are a nice touch. But what you really come here for are the rooms. We paid £260 for ours, yes, a lot, for a special evening, but it did not disappoint: floor to ceiling glass walls looking out aross Cambridge on two sides, a modern four-poster bed, a massive flat-screen TV and enertainment system, a very large seperate bathroom with a walk-in granite gloored shower. Fluffy robes, Aveda toilettries, 24-hour room service. It's a rare treat to find a hotel in the UK that understands what the much-misappropriated term "boutique" really means in terms of design, quality and character. We left feeling like we'd had a holiday, not a one-night stay.

Room Tip: We chose the superior fellows room. It was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,162 - 2,168 of 2,494 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

I booked the Varsity hotel as a birthday treat for my husband, Fireworks weekend!
This hotel is the perfect find, attentive staff, great contemporary decor and wonderful cocktails!!
Our room had the most amazing views over Cambridge,with floor to ceiling windows, making it even more special that we got to watch the fireworks from the comfort of our room.
I had booked two massages at their 'Aveda' spa and once again was not disappointed. Masseur was excellent!
Back to the lounge bar for pre dinner drinks, again loved the decor, then down to the bar/grill.
Good cocktails and good food.
Breakfast in the morning was perfect, both continental and full English on offer.
A 5 minute walk into the centre of town, what could be better?!
I would highly recommend this hotel for a weekend in Cambridge, particularly if you visited in Spring/Summer as they have a roof garden on the top floor where you can have a drink and watch the world go by over Cambridge!
Other boutique hotels in Cambridge are far more expensive and do not have a gym/spa on offer next door either.
Try it and see.....

Room Tip: Go for one of the higher level rooms for the perfect view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Varsity for one night, in October. It is quite simply a wonderful hotel. The staff are welcoming, pleasant and can't do enough for you. It's worth getting a room on the 6th floor, the full length windows give you an amazing view of the city.

I was glad it wasn't pretentious, just a classic boutique hotel.

Would 100% recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

This is not a hotel rather a building in a great location with a collection of hotel rooms within it.

The web site talks of the roof terrace bar but neglects to inform you it had limited opening hours and was subject to the weather conditions, the rooms were very clean, comfortable and full of the mod Coms but that is where it ends! Reception is more like a small office room with no character, the lounge and bar is a small room with a tv and to get a drink you have to pick up the telephone and order one which will be brought up yo you.

To get to the restaurant and Spa (which we did not use) you had to leave the hotel and walk a short distance around the building to a separate business, breakfast was ok but on Saturday it was not served until 8am which was too late for us so we went without!

The staff were friendly but a little defensive and the hotel was in a good location, parking was very expensive in the local public car parks but very close.

I had much greater expectations for the price and was very disappointed with the lack of facilities within the hotel.

Room Tip: Better value accommodation else where in Cambridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

The hotel service was fantastic from start to finish.

On arrival we parked our car in the car park up the hill and were concerned about having to get up in the early hours of the morning to sort it out, however the staff told us that they would take care of it and bill us for the parking fee at the end of our stay.

The location of the hotel couldn't get any better. It is right where you would want to be but down a small road so as to not be disturbed by the nightlife as in previous hotels I have stayed in within Cambridge.

Our room wasn't huge but had all the amenities that one could want and was impeccably clean. I have been fed up of paying £200+ for 5* hotels in london that are dirty around the edges and this one was perfect.

Breakfast was in the restaurant next door and was plentiful and had a huge variety of good food.

The SPA and gym were good. Towels were provided and sitting in the jacuzzi overlooking the River Cam is a rather pleasant way to spend time!

Some have said that this hotel is overpriced. Hotels in cambridge are expensive, as is most of the town (paid £4.50 for a pint of larger!), but as a frequent hotel stayer in london it is much cheaper than hotels which claim to be their standard there and much better i thought.

My boyfriend and I had a great time and would like to thank the Varsity hotel team for such a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philippa089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The top hotel in Cambs.
Clean and tidy; well run.
Caring staff.
Very good food and a gym attached.
It's expensive, but then this is Cambridge and it is 2011.
Not a bad word to say about it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillAndySmitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I decided to book a surprise trip to Cambridge for my partners birthday and liked the look of the Varsity. As it was a special occasion I decided to splash out and booked the Penthouse Suite. It was worth every penny to see the look on his face when we went into the room....! it was the biggest room that I had ever seen!. It had its own balcony with tables and chairs (approx 40ft) and as it was on the 6th floor it had panoramic views over Cambridge. The room had floor to ceiling windows which also gave a fantastic a view of Cambridge. We worked out where the sun would be rising the next morning and watched it from the comfort of the bed! The room had fantastic facilities and even had 2 x flat screen TV's!

We also had a meal and cocktails included in the price. Due to a car problem we did not arrive until quite late (I called Reception and it was no trouble to change our reservation in the restaurant). Unfortunately the Rooftop Terrace Bar was closed and we had to check out before it opened the next day. The food & service at the River bar restaurant adjacent to the hotel was fantastic and we said that if we did come back to Cambridge we would make a point of going there again. We are also thinking about saving up and coming back for our Anniversary next year! :0)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,921 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#7 of 36 in Cambridge
447 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varsity Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Address: Thompson's Lane, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $159 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Varsity Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive. Recharge in the wonderful Elemis spa before soaking up the beautiful skyline with drinks on the hotel's roof terrace,afternoon tea or dinner in the Six Panoramic Bar & Restaurant. Alternatively, guests can indulge in a hearty meal in the River Bar Steakhouse & Grill. Valet parking available from 7 am to 10 pm for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Varsity Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varsity Hotel Cambridge
The Varsity Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing