We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really like this place”

The Cafe at The Gog Magog
Ranked #20 of 37 Coffee & Tea in Cambridge
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really like this place”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have been coming here from years and witnessed its transformation. I love the farm shop, the cheese shed, the peppered steak from the butchers is incredible value. The cafe is excellent with a simple yet tasty menu, with daily specials and homemade cakes. The place is normally very busy, but in a good way, the staff and family who run the Gog's are lovely, friendly and helpful. The scotch eggs are sublime.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SASHNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    46
    30
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pricey but Quality Farm Shop Cafe”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stumbled over this place when staying near Cambridge, and we were so glad we did. Teas and coffees, home made food and cakes, with delicious quality, locally sourced ingredients. Everything is labelled up so you know where it has come from, which is a really nice touch. We had a ploughmans sharing platter - absolutely delicious, you pay more than for an ordinary cafe, but you definitely get quality ingredients and presentation for that.
The decor and surroundings are really nice too, adding to the experience - it seems like they are still doing some work to get the whole place just as they want it, but this doesn't intrude on you and I guess it means the place will get even better?
The service was a tiny bit slow while we were there, but only because of the volume of customers continuously arriving - surely a good sign of how well liked the place is. Despite being so busy, there was a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere there.

In addition to the cafe there are farm shops for produce, cheeses, meats etc. as well as some well selected, higher-end commercial products like condiments, preserves etc. We weren't looking to buy anything like this at the time, and things were obviously more pricey than a supermarket, but if you were looking to cook something a bit special for an occasion then you could get some lovely things here if you had a little extra to spend. We were offered tasters of some of the cheeses too - which were delicious. I did wish we could have bought some!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
512 reviews
417 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Awesome Bacon Sandwich”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Visited here late morning for an early lunch but decided on a late breakfast when we checked out the menu. The bacon sandwich appealed and it live up to expections. Wonderful multigrain bread with a very tasty traditional bacon cooked just right. They serve good coffee but I chose a wonderful local apple juice which was very tasty too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bro44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
320 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Not so much a restaurant - a real farm shop”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is the place to get your meat (all locally sourced and expertly butchered) especially if you are looking for unusual cuts - e.g. skirt, picanya. The cheese is from Neal's Yard and excellently curated. Always interesting things to find. The coffee shop/restaurant is becoming a destination place in its own right

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nickcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing place - fantastic food and deli”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

What can you say about Gog Magog Hills Farm - the food is amazing and every time we take somebody here all they want is to come back again. Fantastic deli, especially their own foods. They specialise around pork and you have not tasted a good pork pie or scotch egg until you have one here. Love it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SueMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cafe at The Gog Magog also viewed

Saffron Walden, Essex
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Cafe at The Gog Magog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing