We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy big bed and whirlpool bath!”
Review of Alington House

Alington House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alington House
Ranked #39 of 126 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We recently spent the weekend here whilst visiting nearby relatives. We had booked the best room, and we were not disappointed. The superking bed was very comfortable and the room itself was clean, bright and functional. The bathroom looked to be newly fitted and the whirlpool bath was lovely!
Our host Elizabeth was delightful and very friendly. Breakfast was candlelit (!!) and there was a wide choice including continental or cooked.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 42 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

It was qite a long time I haven´t been in the UK and it wonderfull to have been at Alington House as my first stop. Elisabeth was wonderfully helpful in everything we needed, breakfast was great, teh room was cosy and teh bed was more than comfortable. Wonderful value for moneu. Most of all, I felt I was wellcomed back to Britain. I brought a friend woth me who has never been to the UK before and sehe was delighted! Do stay here, You won´to regret!

Room Tip: If you do want a quiet sleep ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HPR8473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was our first visit to Cambridge and having read some horror stories about parking charges we were looking for somewhere reasonably close to the centre and on or near a bus route. We usually stay at hotels but the very positive reviews for this guesthouse and its location made our minds up. What a great choice, our room was spacious and very clean as were the other areas of the house we used.
The bus stop for the city centre is only 50 yards or so away with a regular half hour service and a taxi from the guest house to the centre is around £7. Our room was to the back of the house and there was very little noise but the road to the front of the guesthouse is quite busy especially in the mornings so light sleepers might want to take that into consideration.
What really sets this guesthouse apart and made our stay so enjoyable is Elizabeth the owner
who is naturally friendly and very entertaining especially at breakfast time. Nothing was too much trouble for her and we would definitely stay there again if we return to Cambridge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LincolnTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

As regular visitors to Cambridge, we've stayed in a few places and would definitely recommend Alington House...Good location for town (walkable, bus-able and cab-able). Extremely friendly welcome and excellently presented room. Immaculately clean. We'd absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleMissSunshine24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely B&B. Elizabeth is friendly and accomodating. She is attentive in ensuring toy have the best stay in Cambridge. We stayed in a double room and it was clean, spacious and well presented. Would definitely stay again! :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I first arrived at Alington in the heart of a dark, snowy winter, after a long day in the office, having first travelled there on one of those days the AA advises you not to travel if you don't have to. It was a real refuge; I appreciated the generosity of the heating being on... many b&bs I'd stayed in previously aim to save the pennies: understandably, but if you have to stay up often on business then you may be 'in' more than you would be were you on holiday, so I really did appreciate that. The facilities are as you'd expect and typically the standards of cleanliness are perfectly high; any problems or omissions are quickly set right: it's truly homely, Elizabeth makes sure each guest has what they need to understand how to get the best out of staying in Cambridge, and it's that welcome and generosity that makes this establishment stand out from the others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you're sensitive to traffic noise, as Cherry Hinton Road is busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed just one night in the twin room the night before my wedding.Room was the twin, disabled facilities room. It had a wet room and was as expected for the price, basic, clean and functional. A decent cooked breakfast and made all the more pleasant by very friendly and helpful staff. Location wise, there are places nearer the centre if that's what you're after, but for the price and if you don't mind a walk or a short taxi ride, this place is will do fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keepingupwithjoneses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge North (Girton) Hotel
3.4 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Silverwood Lodge Guest House
2.1 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 37 in Cambridge
2,514 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 37 in Cambridge
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alington House

Address: 293 Cherry Hinton Road, Cambridge CB1 7DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: $91 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alington House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing