We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good atmosphere, loos pretty dire.”
Review of The Eagle

The Eagle
Ranked #35 of 693 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Great location, good atmosphere, loos pretty dire.”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

If my friend was here he would scream that I was rating it too highly. I took him here on our way to the Chop House to soak up a bit of historical Cambridge. I explained that Crick and Watson and God knows who used to drink here etc. He was not impressed as he was too disgusted with the state of the loos. I have to say that the female loos were pretty dire too with a blocked loo and a flood on the floor. But I was not too bothered really, these things happen from time to time. The Bar staff were friendly and efficient, the beer good and not that expensive. We did not eat, though I have eaten here before and would agree with those who say it is pretty average. But hey ho it has a great atmosphere and it is nicely decked out and it has a pretty courtyard area where smokers congregate. It is a mixture of university people, tourists and locals. It is a great location just a few yards away from Kings. Recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annemarie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    726
    241
    83
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brighton, UK
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good location but overrated food”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Three of us visited for Sunday lunch. One roast beef, one fish and chips and one cheese and coleslaw on ciabatta bread. The chips, roast potatoes and parsnip were all slightly under cooked and the gravy with the roast was thin and not seasoned much. The coleslaw was quite wet and spoilt the ciabatta. Not very impressed by the food but it is a lovely looking pub in a good location. It's historical setting makes it worthy of a visit but I won't be eating here again in the near future.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anniefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Go for the history and atmosphere as much as the food”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were recommended to the "Eagle" by the walking tour guide. The food is nothing special (I can't even remember what we had to eat!), but the "Eagle" is one of the oldest inns in Cambridge. The freehold is apparently owned by one of the colleges who rent rooms upstairs for visitors. We sat in the RAF bar which has signatures of the servicemen who visited the "Eagle" during the Second World War. Wood panels, old-fashioned bar. Very crowded (we visited at about 5.30 pm), as soon as people got up to leave, there was somebody waiting nearby to take their table! Very traditional, and all the better for it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allybookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Got to visit The Eagle”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Sat 06/04/13. This is an interesting pub that you should deffo visit - loads of history and most of it displayed on the walls & ceiling!. Played a role in the discovery of DNA (regular meeting place for the discoverers), strong links with RAF, USAF - one of the bars is covered with squadron badges, tech drawings of aircraft, etc. Really good choice of beers and the food (based on one lunch) is tasty. One observation from my few visits here is that it's always packed - finding a table at lunchtime is a challenge even with a sizeable outside area! Only slightly negative thing is the staff of a bit keen to kick people out after 11:00pm - suppose they're only doing what they're meant to but, still... :-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Worth a visit for the history”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Do not miss this pub if you are visiting Cambridge. It is an old pub steeped in history and patronized by those we read about in our text books remains a traditional English Pub. Drinks are reasonable (although not the cheapest in Cambridge), and while we did not eat here, the meals all looked substantial.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don_K_Kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eagle also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing