We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Saffron Brasserie

Saffron Brasserie
Ranked #133 of 691 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Curry was spot on (butter chicken)..brilliant mixed starter..daal was a bit flavorless but overall really good.

Helpful?
Thank Junumh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    52
    21
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst meal I have ever been served, inedible.”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The worst curry I have ever had the misfortune to order! I ordered my favorite curry dish that I find is quite hot but very tasty, the Achari. What the Saffron Brasserie served me was basically boot leather (masqurading as lamb) covered in brown gravy and as many green chilli's as possible. It was painful to eat and I gave up after half a dozen mouthfuls. The achari uses a sour pickle of some sort (don't know what it's name is) and there was part of one in the serving (with complementary stone still attached) but I couldnt taste it at all. The staff did not ask was my meal okay (as almost every restaurant above MacDonalds do) and tidied it away while I was in the toilet not once enqiring why I had left most of it. Do not go here!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent curry house”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Popped in for an early dinner one cold February Saturday night. Was encouraged by the fact the place was already half full even at that relatively early hour (7pm). Service was prompt but unfussy. The menu has some interesting dishes which I hadn't seen elsewhere. The food was tasty and in good-sized portions. Price was competitive (50 quid for two, including drinks, poppadoms, starters and mains). In short, a very good indian restaurant which is thoroughly recommended. One word of advice: the chilli ratings for each of their dishes is unerringly accurate. If a curry is marked 'hot', it really is 'hot' !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrbouffant2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Indian in cambridgeshire”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Always excellent service and fabulous food. Polite, courteous and welcoming staff. Have tried most things on the menu and never been disappointed. Highly recommended

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank L E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great meal and friendy service”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

6 of us went to saffron on Friday night and was really busy restaurant, we received good service and the food was excellent. We will be visiting there soon again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank badrul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Brasserie also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Saffron Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing