We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Curry House.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Saffron Brasserie

Saffron Brasserie
Ranked #110 of 683 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Essex UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Curry House.”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Eat here after reading reviews. Looks a bit un appealing from the outside but was persuaded to venture in by the positive write ups. Extensive menu and good service. Food nice but far from the best Indian that I've had.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian262001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    52
    21
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“delicious vegetarian experience”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We found ourselves a short walk from this restaurant and would highly recommend it to anyone in Cambridge or visiting. The food was flavoursome with a tasty mixture of textures and sauces. As vegetarians we enjoy Indian and Italian food, but the food at this restaurant was definitely a cut above others we've been to. A pleasant environment with clean toilet facilities, we didn't notice till almost the end of our meal there was no music, just the hum of conversations, which we liked. If visiting Cambridge again we'd certainly make a beeline for the Saffron to try out the other tempting things on the menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nosliwoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unusual”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

After viewing the impressive reviews on tripadvisor me and my boyfriend decided to give this restaurant a try. From the moment we got there it was a downward spiral!!! The first thing I noticed was an odd and unpleasant smell! This smell literally put me off the food. The starter was OK, very very chewy salmon & the poppadoms were fried in what it seemed like a tank of oil - very oily. The mains weren't too bad - different if I don't say so myself, however the service was poor!! The waiter seemed uninterested and inhospitable. I'm extremely disappointed and feel the reviews have "overrated" the Indian cuisine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaykay333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Curry”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Its been some time since i dined here and it was great to experience the same excellent food and service again, by far one of the best curry places in cambridge and looking forward to the next visit already.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twiglet1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah B, Owner at Saffron Brasserie, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best curry in Cambridge”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I eat here fairly regularly and if you are looking for a curry in Cambridge this is the only place to go! service is great, the food is spectacular and all for a very reasonable price. Even when very busy the food comes quickly. Couldn't reccomend this curry house more. Don't go anywhere else!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamez_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah B, Owner at Saffron Brasserie, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Brasserie also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Saffron Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing