We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surroundings, good food and friendly staff”

St John's Chop House
Ranked #47 of 683 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $44
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Just off the beaten track, The St. John's Chop House is a sister restaurant to The Cambridge Chop House. The restaurant is situated in a 200 year old former Almshouse. Split over 2 levels with 5 separate dining rooms it offers a wide range of dining options from an intimate meal in our Reading Room to the party sized rooms on the ground floor. Traditional British food is once again the mainstay, sourced as locally as possible, complimented by a local cask ale and an interesting wine list. Reservations are taken and recommended, especially at the weekend.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice surroundings, good food and friendly staff”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The good impression started on booking, when we were asked if we could come 30 minutes later, as they had 2 big groups. When we arrived, we sat in the courtyard which was good on a very hot day. The service was exemplary and the food good. The wine list is unusual, but the wine was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannelore H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    192
    68
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hop On Hop Off!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

After research on Trip Advisor and elsewhere I wanted to lunch at St John's Chop House but it is a little out of the city centre. However the open top "hop on hop off" bus stops just a minute or two from this excellent restaurant (Stop 16). Less crowded, more relaxed, than the city centre restaurants, it is well worth visiting. Others have commented on the excellence of the food and we can confirm this. Three courses for myself, two for my wife, plus a couple of drinks each came to £37. The meal was served by friendly and attentive staff in about 1 hour 10 minutes, just enough time to stroll back to the bus stop, for a bus that runs every 20 minutes, and resume the city tour.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday Roast”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I am still yet to come across anywhere in Cambridge that does a better roast dinner.

Serves food all day on a Sunday which is great, staff friendly and never a problem getting a table.

Only reason I haven't rated 5/5 is the starters and desserts could be improved.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveNiceThingsX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A good menu and a nice building”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I visited this restaurant recently with a group of friends for a birthday meal. The building is nice and is pretty close to the city centre, about 5 mins walk from the quayside. The selection of drinks and the menu was very good, although they only sell bottled beers and no draught. We all had two courses and drinks and it came to £40 per head and the food was very good. The menu has a good choice for a meat eater and has some interesting dishes. I started with the potted squirrel which was really tasty but my friends potted squirrel hadn't set properly, so was a little greasy. For the main course, I chose the venison, which was cooked perfectly. One of the group was a vegetarian, and whilst there isn't lots of choice for a vegetarian, what was on the menu was very good.

My only criticism, and this is very common at a lot of restaurants, is that the staff do not know a lot about the produce, where it comes from, how it is cooked a so on, I feel that by selling and serving food, then you should know everything about it, and if you don't, then you should go and find out, one waiter in particular was a bit too cocky and quite unhelpful, but the rest were very good as we're their choice of wine for us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stu26England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“definitely worth a short stroll out of the city centre”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was with a large group of 40 pre-booked for Dinner in the upstairs restaurant. Large groups have somewhat variable experiences in Cambridge restaurants which are typically tucked into small period buildings with tiny kitchens, but the St John's Chop House managed to cater extremely efficiently. The food appeared rapidly and was well cooked. The menu very meaty-including rodents (squirrel terrine) but there was a fish and some vegetarian options too. Everything was delicious, the service was willing and very competent and the house wine well priced. The room was atmospheric and ambience cosy. In short, the experience was an excellent one and the staff had clearly thought carefully about how to provide a memorable evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank unclepious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St John's Chop House also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to St John's Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing