We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal - again!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St John's Chop House

St John's Chop House
Ranked #47 of 678 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $44
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Just off the beaten track, The St. John's Chop House is a sister restaurant to The Cambridge Chop House. The restaurant is situated in a 200 year old former Almshouse. Split over 2 levels with 5 separate dining rooms it offers a wide range of dining options from an intimate meal in our Reading Room to the party sized rooms on the ground floor. Traditional British food is once again the mainstay, sourced as locally as possible, complimented by a local cask ale and an interesting wine list. Reservations are taken and recommended, especially at the weekend.
cambridge, england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great meal - again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I ate here on Friday 22nd February. We were looking for somewhere at short notice, and I was pleasantly surprised to be told they could fit us in (at five minutes' notice at 7.30 on a Friday night).

We had friendly and efficient service - our waiter had a good knowledge of the menu and wine list. When he brought my wife's starter, a chicken salad, he mistakenly announced it was duck. We were just saying 'that's not what we ordered' as we realised it was obviously chicken, and he was quite embarrassed. When collecting the dishes later, he checked that our chicken had not been 'too duckish'! He had a really nice manner, which we particularly appreciated having had a very bad experience in another restaurant earlier.

As it happens, the chicken salad was the only false note in the whole meal. The chicken was very dry and the dressing too meaner to make up for this. My starter was venison shank and chestnut suet pudding. It was wonderful. My wide had a sirloin for her main, which she loved (I tasted it and it was fantastic). I had ale braised beef cheek, which I have had here before. The previous time I'd loved it, even though it was very fatty. This time there was less fat and just as much flavour.

Two desserts of burned cream, and a fabulous bottle of red, and the meal was over all too soon. Slightly surreally, Fabio Capello arrived with a number of others just before we left! I'd be surprised if he didn't have a great meal as well.

This place is already a favourite of ours and we will be back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mackemflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    190
    67
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“good old fashioned carnivore restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Four of us for dinner and all our plates were really good, well cooked meats. Sharing fish plate to start was excellent, we shared one between four, good fishcakes and excellent beetroot cured salmon. Very traditional british menu but well done. Nice cosy atmosphere we enjoyed it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carmellasoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Favourite restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have been here many times, it's our favourite restaurant in Cambridge and we always take our friends when they come to visit. The Cambridge Chop House on King's Street is great as well, but I think the atmosphere at St John's gives it the edge. The staff are fantastic and very knowledgeable about the menu and the beer/wine, the food is delicious, and the prices are great! You can't go wrong. I recommend this place to everyone I know!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cmw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Saturday Lunch Out in Cambridge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We went to the St. John's Chop House for lunch today. We liked the building and the waitress was extremely pleasant, helpful and lively. I thought the food mediocre. I had the scallops, followed by the venison and then the fruit crumble. My partner seemed to do reasonably ok with his vegetarian meal and really did enjoy his sticky toffee pudding. My meal did not seem particularly freshly cooked. I would have liked more vegetables with the main meal. I started to think everything was perhaps prepared long beforehand and this was not food freshly cooked by a chef by any means. This seemed confirmed when the pudding arrived as it was in a dish with the dish put onto a plate and the dish was so extremely hot that the pudding had obviously been heated up in the dish it was served in in a microwave. I had to tip the whole thing out onto the plate in order to be able to cool it down enough to be eaten. I thought the food was expensive for what it was as I did not think the quality was high. The beer was excellent. Based on today's offering I would not hurry back to the chop house.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PFNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love it here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Visited here many times and it never disappoints, great atmosphere , service and good home Cooke British food, don't go to the chop house in the centre of town stroll around to here much better. You will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St John's Chop House also viewed

 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to St John's Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing