We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, interesting location in a newly built/still being built area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, interesting location in a newly built/still being built area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

All was fine and room too. But the breakfast was poor. Lots of it but lots of not very nicely cooked food. Shame really- i mean what does that bacon taste like? Do the staff/managers/area managers/top brass ever sit down and eat one choice of the entire selection to taste test ? If they do and accept that it is all fine then then are wrong. The breakfast cost 9 quid- if i stay in a Prem Inn again i will be skipping the breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattAko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    539
    150
    45
    30
See reviews for
403
550
58
257
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Presteigne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times and also at the adjacent Travelodge. The Premier wins by a decent margin,
Mainly due to the efficiency of the staff and the availability of decent food . Well done for not overpricing the wine!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keithhatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Hotel is conveniently close to the A14. Location is next to housing development which seemed a bit odd but shopping and restaurants are a short drive (unless you're very fit and want to hoof it!).

Good security, very clean, good parking and friendly staff. Restaurant dinner was also decent.

Excellent value and I would recommend

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davvos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Lovely hotel where you can get a really good nights sleep. The hotel is modern and comfortable, close to the A14 although with the sound prooded windows you wouldnt believe this. I would recommend dining outside of the hotel - service/food choice is poor currently - otherwise would have got 5 stars from me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrissK121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
413 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed here just over two years ago when the hotel first opened. We have now been back this weekend as my wifes' parents were staying here for two nights whilst visiting family in Cambridgeshire.

On escorting my in-laws to their room, lifts to all floors had security swipe card access on each landing, I did note that the rooms appeared to be a little smaller than most other Premiers. The rooms were otherwise up to normal standards, emaculately clean and presented. My in-laws commented on the comfort of the bed and both of them reported that they had two good nights sleep.

The hotel is easy to locate as it is right off Junction 32 of the A14 and being 8 storeys high is easy to spot in the flat landscape of northern Cambridge. It is true that it is located at the back of the new residential estate of Orchard Park, but this does not affect the locality at all.

Cambridge city centre is only a quick 5 minutes drive away, a £10 taxi fare or a short bus journey as Orchard Park West bus stop is only 300m walk away and is located at the end of the guided section of the new St Ives - Cambridge guided busway.

All four of us had an excellent family dinner in the on-site integrated restaurant on Saturday evening. This was real VFM as a 3 course dinner, glass of wine and full english breakfast was only £22.99. As none residents I enquired on how the staff would know that we were booked for breakfast and this is solved by the issue of tickets.

We returned for breakfast on Sunday morning and it is served buffet style with a full range of continental options and an impressive hotplate, which we witnessed was restocked continuously by the chef.

All the staff were charming, polite and friendly and were always available to answer any queries.

A most pleasant weekend was enjoyed by everyone.

Room Tip: Guide Bus is only a short 300m walk away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Spacious comfy room with a big bed and flat screen tv, a bathroom with a bath, friendly reception staff and easy, free parking.

As you'd expect, it's a bit no-frills - just two coffee and tea sachets and a minimal number of towels, and the location on the edge of a housing development is purely functional. rather than attractive. But at the price, this hotel is a winner. Premier Inns are so confident you'll be happy they offer a money back guarantee if you didn't have a good night's stay.

Cambridge centre is 10 mins drive away. Reception warned us that parking is expensive, so we took their advice (and helpful info sheet) and walked to the bus stop five minutes away. A service runs every 15 minutes at peak times and the buses back to the hotel run until 11.20pm. A return was £3.70. Taxis are easy to find in the centre and the journey costs about £10 one-way.

To get the best room prices, Premier tell you to book in advance online, and be flexible on dates. We paid £79 for a double room a few days beforehand. The cheapest price was via Premier's own website, where we saved a few extra pounds on the Trip Advisor rates - more than enough to cover the £3 a day wi-fi charge when we arrived :)

it is possible to get rooms for as little as £29 at this chain, although I think £65 is the best I've managed.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Premier Inn to someone who wants a good, economical base that is comfortable and so much comfier than rival hotel chains I've used.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 106 at the front of the hotel. There was a tiny bit of noise from a cars coming an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShortbreakerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Have just spent a couple of days at this hotel visiting Cambridge. The hotel is very modern, fresh and clean. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the restaurant both nights and there was a broad selection of food which we thoroughly enjoyed. There is plenty of free parking available at the hotel. Will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park
2.4 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel
Address: Ring Fort Road, Cambridge CB4 2GW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're messing about on the river or serious about your studies, Premier Inn Hotel Cambridge (A14, J32) is in the perfect place to stay. From the colleges to the business parks, you'll find great transport links too. See the Red Arrows take to the wing at Duxford, or run like the wind at the Chariots of Fire race. Let your imagination take flight wandering through the tranquil grounds of Anglesey Abbey, or land on a bargain with some shopping in Cambridge. Then fly back to the hotel for some lovely food and a comfy bed. Directions: From A14 Jct 32: Follow signs for B1049 (Signposted City Centre). At 1st set of traffic lights, turn left onto Kings Hedges Road, then 1st left onto Iceni Way and follow the road to the right. Transport and local information: Cambridge University 2.5 Miles Cambridge Railway Station 4 Miles Cambridge City Airport 4 Miles Wandlebury Country Park 7 Miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cambridge (a14 j32) Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing