We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to relax, think and breathe - the Moller Centre is a gem”
Review of The Moller Centre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Moller Centre
Windsor, UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A place to relax, think and breathe - the Moller Centre is a gem”
Reviewed May 15, 2011

The Moller Centre - part of Churchill College in Cambridge - offers a wonderful contrast to those of us fed up with boring hotel rooms, over-charging, nondescript service and penal charges for car parking, WiFi and lots of other extras. A previous review called the Moller "a little gem" and I whole-heartedly agree. It is my accommodation of choice in Cambridge - a city I know and love and to which I return on a frequent basis. So where does the value for money come from?
1/ Free car parking - never a problem - a generous car park and safe too

2/ Free WiFi - fast, reliable - no fuss, the centre is a highly rated training centre and they have responded over the years to the changing needs of delegates when providing rooms that de-stress and allow you to work productively. The rooms are a generous size - all have great views through large windows, fresh milt supplied and the bath rooms are fine - power showers are standard, there is plenty of space to unwind

3/ A superb breakfast - served in a light and airy location, circular tables for ten that actually encourage you to chat to fellow travellers - the food is well presented and the upstairs Tower Bar provides excellent coffee and tea on demand for those wanting to read and work in a relaxed environment

4/ Great views (for all seventy rooms) of the Churchill College playing fields - enticing to jog around

5/ Within 15 minutes walking of central Cambridge - even closer to the main university hubs

6/ Free access to the Churchill College gym (at last ... a gym that has an erg!) - 24 hours a day - just use your room key. This is shared with students but don't let that put you off!

7/ Excellent front of house, quick, efficient, knowledgeable about Cambridge and the surrounding area. Good facilities for baggage storage if you are heading into town for a meeting and need to pick up your belongings later after checking out

8/ Although part of a mainstream Cambridge college, it is quiet, stunning in the summer sunshine - the nature of the guests (delegates, business people) means that you are rarely if ever disturbed

Booking online is easy - I always come away from the Moller refreshed and having got a lot done. Overall - a place that does that little bit extra without fleecing you - rare when you find it but so welcome nonetheless.

Room Tip: The rooms are pretty standard! Don't worry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GBR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    30
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
7
5
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

I'm a regular visitor to the Moller Centre and they have recently updated their rooms to include flat screen TVs. The usual free WiFi is great along with free water in the rooms. The room was comfortable, except very noisy on the top corridor. If you can get a ground floor room it is much better.

I've ate in the Tower Lounge Bar before, but during this stay the service was appalling! It was a difficult experience ordering as the bar tender could not get the order correct when reading it back. After 50 minutes waiting the food had still not arrived and the bar tender or any other staff had not apologised for the delay. This was further compounded by several members of staff standing around welcoming a handful of conference guests, so there was no shortage of staff. After a further 10 minutes a waiter delivered the wrong food to our table and then re-delivered it to a table behind who came in and ordered after ourselves. It was an hour and 20 minutes before our food arrived, which is a long time for a Jacket Potato which certainly didn't have a crispy skin. The waiter said he would let the duty manager know, but there was no apology or comments. Disappointing!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt_from_nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangefni, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

The room was very comfortable & clean. Staff were efficient and friendly and the location very good albeit a little way out of the city. A lot of thought has gone into the design of the rooms and fittings. Free wifi worked very well.
I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyTravel200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

There hotel was clean, the room big and with all the facilities that one can need. The Wi-Fi connection was FREE. The staff was helpful. Breakfast, both English and continental, was very good. The hotel is at walking distance from the center (15-20 minutes) and from the Cambridge Computer Laboratory (5 minutes).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honesttraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,161 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,750 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,311 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
368 reviews
1.5 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moller Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moller Centre

Property: The Moller Centre
Address: Churchill College Grounds, Storey's Way, Cambridge CB3 0DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Cambridge
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venue: PLEASE NOTE THE MØLLER CENTRE DOES NOT PERMIT CHILDREN ON SITE. The Multi-award winning Møller Centre is a dedicated residential training and conferencing centre with 19 flexible meeting rooms and a 100-seater lecture theatre. Clients have a wide choice of rooms to hold meetings, conferences, events and private dining. The Danish design of the Centre provides a light, clean and airy learning environment, with meeting rooms overlooking the beautiful grounds of Churchill College. The meeting rooms all have direct access to networking areas with unlimited refreshments, such as bean to cup Fairtrade® coffee. We provide all inclusive day and residential packages, with free Wi-Fi, parking and gym access for all delegates. We have pro-active IT/AV support and cutting edge equipment such as paperless conferencing using iPads and a dedicated microsite, audience participation technology and Apple® AirPlay. On-site accommodation comprises 92 stylish en-suite bedrooms with iconic Danish Hans J. Wegner furniture. Among these bedrooms, we have three beautiful suites. Our bedrooms combine style, comfort and attention to detail; they are designed to include large desks as well as room to relax after a hard days work. All bedrooms are air-conditioned and have beautiful views of gardens or the impressive grounds of Churchill College. The Centre also includes vibrant networking areas, three bars, a restaurant and roof Terrace. Leadership Development Programmes: We typically partner with CEOs, Heads of Learning & Development and other senior executives to design and deliver practical leadership development programmes for their current and future leaders. Our experienced faculty work alongside these clients to understand and address specific business needs and challenges through practical, highly-customised programmes, which create positive outcomes for individuals, organisations and their communities that have a lasting impact. The Møller Centre has a strong association with the University of Cambridge. This means event organisers have a unique opportunity to access speakers who are academic, business and cultural experts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing