We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUNDAY LUNCH”

The Cambridge Chop House
Ranked #18 of 691 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $35
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of Cambridge, opposite Kings College Chapel, The Cambridge Chop House is a traditional British bar and restaurant that has been popular with locals and visitors from further afield since it opened in 2007. Split over two levels, the ground floor boasts views of Kings College Chapel while the basement is an intimate, atmospheric cellar split into four rooms. The menu offers British classics made from locally sourced ingredients and the two course set lunch and pre-theatre menu is excellent value for money. Popular dishes include Mutton Barnsley chops; whole sea bass with wholegrain mustard sauce; and daily changing sausages made on site. The hearty portions are best served with local ales straight from the cask or wine from an extensive list.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SUNDAY LUNCH”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Lunch a treat by my son, The meal (Roast Beef) was superb the quality of beef excellent although amount of beef was on the mean side, My wife had chicken, so much she could not finish the meal. The staff were extremely pleasant and obliging.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    727
    447
    130
    35
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Another excellent meal at the Cambridge Chop House”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We have been to the Cambridge Chop House 4 or 5 times now. On all occasions, the meals have been excellent and very tasty. Most of the tables are downstairs in the basement but I think you can reserve one of the tables on the ground floor that overlooks Kings Chaple. The basement is light and airy though, you can't even tell you are underground! Excellent restaurant, would definitely recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
633 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Superlative steaks”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Usually we rely on TripAdvisor ratings, but in this case our guide for a walking tour of Cambridge recommended the Chop House. The food is British (in the good sense!). Our steaks were marvelous -- tender, textured, and flavorsome -- and cooked exactly as ordered. Their cider is excellent, and went well with the food. Our starter salads were less exciting, but overall we had a good dining experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DerAlteBach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
529 reviews
423 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I had been here before buy hubby had not. I recall liking the steaks and we were at a lecture nearby so thought we would go for it. We had a nice table in the basement and were greeted by very friendly staff. While the steaks and wine were very good, we were quite disappointed with the following: our bread never arrived, coleslaw is wet and on the same plate as the meat (meaning it ruins the flavour of the steak - I scooped my off and used the napkin to wipe off excess liquid), salad dressing is on the salad and there is a lot of it, and side order of carrots were not carrots at all - it was a combination of turnips and beetroot as well. Overall an okay meal - but will not be returning anytime soon. I am not that excited about their new offshoot (Smokeworks) if this is what their standards have been reduced to.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank foodie_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxFreeman, Owner at The Cambridge Chop House, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear jmhcktt,
Thank you for your review. We do appreciate all feedback whether positive or negative. With regards to the coleslaw we will continue to serve it on the plate however we have readdressed the preparation of the coleslaw to make sure it is not too wet. Your carrots you received were in fact what are known as heritage carrots, this means they are the original colour for carrots, and I agree with you,they can easily be mistaken for beetroots & turnips but I can assure you they are carrots.
I sincerely hope you do try us again and I can assure you that our new SmokeWorks venture will strive for the highest possible standards, the same as all our restaurants do.
Regards,
Max Freeman
Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Winter Nosh”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

An excellent Winters menu with great views of Kings College and a wonderful ale offering. Some of the best English dishes available in Cambridge.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DGC57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cambridge Chop House also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Cambridge Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing