We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Friday fish and chips.”

The Cambridge Chop House
Ranked #15 of 683 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $36
Cuisines: European, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the heart of Cambridge, opposite Kings College Chapel, The Cambridge Chop House is a traditional British bar and restaurant that has been popular with locals and visitors from further afield since it opened in 2007. Split over two levels, the ground floor boasts views of Kings College Chapel while the basement is an intimate, atmospheric cellar split into four rooms. The menu offers British classics made from locally sourced ingredients and the two course set lunch and pre-theatre menu is excellent value for money. Popular dishes include Mutton Barnsley chops; whole sea bass with wholegrain mustard sauce; and daily changing sausages made on site. The hearty portions are best served with local ales straight from the cask or wine from an extensive list.
Rutland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect Friday fish and chips.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Sitting outside on the pavement in sunshine watching the Cambridge masses pass by, sipping excellent local ale, is thoroughly recommended. Their Friday lunchtime special is extremely good and, at £10, good value too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RHBRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    432
    125
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pre Theatre Lunch for four”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Lunched here on Thursday 6 June with friends and found the service excellent with a knowledgeable, helpful staff. prompt service and the food was very good indeed. No hesitation in coming here for another lunch and look forward to a Dinner after a Theatre visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scooter402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice food at reasonable prices.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Now we are back in Sydney we are writing our restaurant reviews of which the Cambridge Chop House is one. We went twice to this restaurant, conveniently opposite Kings, once for dinner and the other for lunch. Our first visit for dinner included entrees of cured salmon and a ham terrine dish, both of which were good. Our main courses of sausages and gammon were truly proletarian but quite delicious! This was followed by desserts of apple crumble and a ginger pudding, all washed down with glasses of a white and red wine, all this for a reasonable 44 pounds.
Our second visit for lunch consisted of soups, fish and chips and a dessert called 'Eve's Pudding' all of which was pretty basic but again delicious! One couldn't complain about the total cost of 28 pounds, it's almost worth travelling up to Cambridge from London to eat here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cadigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A carnivore's delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a great steak / chop house almost opposite Kings College. It's quite expensive, but the quality is high. My only regret was that I didn't order the pork crackling starter. When a nearby table did, I was green with envy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cimbalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant & Affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The food here is pleasantly surprising in its quality, the service is attentive and the atmosphere is good all around.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickHobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cambridge Chop House also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Cambridge Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing