We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good food”

River Bar Steakhouse & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
River Bar Steakhouse & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 683 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The River Bar Steakhouse and Grill, with its cavernous loft-like vibe, quayside location and creative crowd, has become one of Cambridge's premier restaurants. Located close to the bustling town centre, in a riverside spot opposite Magdalene College, The River Bar Steakhouse and Grill is a popular choice for special occasion dining and drinks. The Grill serves the very finest prime cuts of beef, aged for 28 days and sourced from local farms. The menu includes a large selection of cuts, from a classic porterhouse to a tender fillet or indulgent chateaubriand for two. Burgers meanwhile are freshly made on the premises and marinated chicken and fresh fish come straight from the signature grill too. Though based around the steak, The River Bar Steakhouse and Grill caters superbly for vegetarians, serves sublime desserts and prior to your meal we heartily recommend enjoying hand mixed cocktails in the bar, the ideal start to any special evening.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Came here on the second night we stayed in Cambridge. My boyfriend had their surf and turf burger, really substantial, fresh and tasty (I ate quite a bit of it much to his annoyance!). I had the salmon, again nicely done and marinade excellent. We went to Byron burger the day before, good but not a patch on the burger here in terms of taste and size. A really nicely designed restaurant with great views over the river and friendly staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    679
    219
    91
    41
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food and experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

On the basis that people are more likely to write negative reviews than postive ones after reading TA we though we would give it ago. First impressions were good the reservation was dealt with efficiently and politely. We requested at table by the window but were informed that it could not be guaranteed.
A little tricky to find the restaurant is on the river next to the punting boats. The entrance is unassuming but the main restaurant is nicely furnished, particularly the lighting.

We were met by a waiter who offered us a drink as we were early ,he suggested we visit the roof terrace at The hotel next door , the bar on the hotel roof is something special we ended up having Pimms watching the sunset.
When our table was ready the roof manager came over to let us know our table was ready.
By this time the restaurant was full and several people were being turned way .

We loved the food , good portions all perfectly cooked. For starters I had the smoked salmon and for mains we shared the Chateaubriand. To finish we shared the cheescake.

The food is simple but super delicious,we would recommend as the roof and restaurant combined make an excellent unique experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sherwoodt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Arrogant manager.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Following great reviews we had seen, we booked a table for three for lunch on a Saturday. Due to heavy traffic we were late it we phone to advice them. I couldn't believe how badly we were treated. Food pricey and service awful. I have eaten much better pub food. The manager & some waiting staff behaved like they had better things to do than be there serving us. Manager came across as very arrogant, like he is managing in a triple michelin star restaurant or the Ritz. No one asked us if the food was okay. We felt rushed, yet the place was virtually empty. 45 minutes is all it took us from start to finish. We had to go somewhere else for desert and coffee. We felt robbed of our money and an afternoon. Burger I think had been reheated in the microwave. DON'T GO THERE! I will not be returning. What a shame, great views, awful food & poor service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't go there!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

To be fair we did arrive late... traffic was very bad ... but the whole experience was about as bad as I can recall from any restaurant. My companions had burgers which were cold and seemed to have been microwaved. My rib-eye, which was expensive, was chewy and bland. Staff very unwelcoming and did not bother to check we were okay. Definitely NOT going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichW59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great venue , Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The restaurant was recommended by friends who are regulars. We thought the style and ambience was spot on , buzzing but not too overbearing. For starters we shared the Camembert which came on a board , nice touch. For mains I had the lobster and my wife the Sirloin with chips, for sides we shared the spinach and salad. The food is well executed , wine sensibly priced ,( we had the house Merlot) and you wont leave hungry. Would recommend.
Harry Stapleford.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stapleford h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Bar Steakhouse & Grill also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to River Bar Steakhouse & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing