We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, delicious steaks and fantastic atmosphere.”

River Bar Steakhouse & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
River Bar Steakhouse & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 693 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The River Bar Steakhouse and Grill, with its cavernous loft-like vibe, quayside location and creative crowd, has become one of Cambridge's premier restaurants. Located close to the bustling town centre, in a riverside spot opposite Magdalene College, The River Bar Steakhouse and Grill is a popular choice for special occasion dining and drinks. The Grill serves the very finest prime cuts of beef, aged for 28 days and sourced from local farms. The menu includes a large selection of cuts, from a classic porterhouse to a tender fillet or indulgent chateaubriand for two. Burgers meanwhile are freshly made on the premises and marinated chicken and fresh fish come straight from the signature grill too. Though based around the steak, The River Bar Steakhouse and Grill caters superbly for vegetarians, serves sublime desserts and prior to your meal we heartily recommend enjoying hand mixed cocktails in the bar, the ideal start to any special evening.
England
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, delicious steaks and fantastic atmosphere.”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We arrived in the restaurant on friday night without a reservation,we were warmly greeted by the Manger Marco, who advised us to get a drink at the bar and there was a table available soon.
I drank a Cosmopolitan and my husband a Negroni both perfect. Arrived at the table we ordered a bottle of Primitivo (well priced) and we ordered one Chateaubriand perfectly cooked and served on a wooden board with chips and salad.
The atmosphere was fantastic the waiters attentive and friendly.
I'll be back and this time I'll try to book a nice table by the window, even though I was warned that a request made by many.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    711
    231
    98
    42
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“Really Very Cool”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

booked to go to theatre at the cambridge arts theatre so popped in at six for a couple of burgers wow! what a feast avocado and chill was just the best better than some i have eaten in the states beer could have been colder though and the staff cherce i think her name was was charming and quick keep on flipping those burgers

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fred z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, England
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Well-presented steak focused eatery”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Overlooking the Cam, if you can get a table by the water (inside, at a window, that is) this makes for a great location.

Good quality, albeit a touch pricey but up to the mark for well-hung steaks, and a nice cool atmosphere, with low ceilings and subtle lighting.

Ideal if you are staying at the Varsity. I recommend a drink at the rooftop bar there, then drop into the River Bar Steakhouse for eats.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best steak I've ever had!!!!!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Amazing steak - seriously the best I've ever had! Wine was also wonderful. Very knowledgeable and attentive staff, a unique place tucked away out of sight. Almost a crime to promote it as I want it all to myself!!! You have simply got to come here if you like food !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ukbigmac2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“worst service I have had for a long time”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Two waiters and a manager-type were just woefully poor.

Would you like water as well as your drinks - yes please - didn't turn up. Had to ask again

Would you like some bread while your food is prepared - yes please - 10 minutes later no bread had to ask again.

Two steak pies please. Two venison pies arrive. No, we ordered steak pies. We have no steak pies left. You can order something else if you don't want these. The manager's attitude was completely couldn't care less - stay, go, I don't care.

I don't patronise places that forget customer service, so left. Plenty other places with good food that value customers.

I've had to mark the food 1 dot because, well, a venison pie is a terrible steak pie

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aji1376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Bar Steakhouse & Grill also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to River Bar Steakhouse & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing