We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal - good service”

Galleria Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Galleria Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 691 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Galleria restaurant in Cambridge has the most brilliant location at the foot of Magdalene Bridge beside the River Cam, just in one of the deepest parts where the punters come unstuck. With a pair of terraces beside the river, diners have a ringside seat not only for the punting circus, but also for the pleasure of one of England’s loveliest views. This three-level continental restaurant is light and airy, romantic and pleasant, with wrought-iron balconies, ferns, French prints, bistro-style seating. Signature dish is poached fillets of monkfish in lemongrass with sweet red chilli cream sauce and tiger prawns with leeks and mushrooms served with rice. The very reasonable wines tend to favour Old World vineyards.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice meal - good service”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a lovely meal at The Galleria, the service was very good and choice (although not loads to choose from on the menu) was good. Costs varied but not over the top. The restaurant (and others close by) were not very busy but maybe because it was a Sunday evening in the winter! The restaurant sides on to the River Cam so in the summer you can sit outside, which would be perfect.
Will go again, so that I can try something else on the menu!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    167
    49
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“lovely food”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Not too pricey, excellent service, good quality food and presentation. Nice little restaurant. this would very nice in the warmer weather, as there are a few tables outside on the river edge.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely lunch venue”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The food is splendid, the service is good and the view of the River Cam is fantastic. Even better on a nice day when you can sit outside overlooking the river.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, Co Down, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good night out”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Galleria is situated close to the City centre and was handy for us as we were visiting Cambridge for a wedding anniversary weekend. I have to say that the staff were very friendly and effecient. My wife had a lovely cocktail while we were waiting for the food to arrive while I ordered a beer, which was not very cold at all. The food was good - I cannot fault it at all. The quality of the food was great but the meal was pretty much the same you would get in any good quality bristro. The waiter recommended a red wine for us which was really quite good.
All in all, we enjoyed our night out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank cronstown8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

What a nice change to find a restaurant that has a different menu to the usual run of the meal chain restaurants. The food was really good. I had read previous reviews last year and was put off this restaurant originally by the feed back of the staff being rude. I can only say that I found the staff to be extremely pleasant and helpful. And would not hesitate in recommending this restaurant to anyone and look forward to going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galleria Restaurant also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Galleria Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing