We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to overlook”
Review of The Snug Bar

The Snug Bar
Ranked #376 of 693 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to our Lensfield Road Snug Bar, where we offer quality service alongside an eclectic offering of cocktails, food and real ales. Whether a self-confessed foodie, cocktail enthusiast or ale drinker we have something for you. During the day we're the perfect comfy retreat from the office or studying, providing quality coffee and food served all day - whether you fancy a light bite, the best breakfast in town, classic fish and chips or our famous homemade burgers, our menu will see you through the day. Come the evening we are transformed to a cocktail and beer lovers dream. Drop in to enjoy our generous happy hour whilst being be looked after by our friendly team and provided with a selection of quality cocktails, premium lagers - and now a fine range of real ales and cask cider - in what is probably the cosiest bar in town.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Easy to overlook”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good food, nice service, real patrons from the surrounding area, chicken wings delicious, great menu of burgers and sandwiches plus much much more like fajitas and breakfast All Day!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigTop_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    29
    28
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“The Snug”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Always smells of grease but staff friendly and food quite good convenient place to meet friends but is not a patch on The Vine which it replaced.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Dull and in need of updating”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Judging by its' menu, the snug is more of a bar than a restaurant. At lunchtime more focus is needed on a short, fresh menu, removing the clutter of sticky paperwork offering an uninviting(at lunchtime anyway) . The interior is brown. Very brown. And rather sticky, possibly with the residues of the night before. Judging by the menu, this is a boil-in the bag or stick it in the microwave offer. I must confess to having visited twice this week, largely because it is the nearest joint to my workplace and both times I needed lunch in a hurry, once with a friend, once with a business colleague. Neither good; the food that is, the company was sparkling and witty. Fish and chips particularly dire, the small size sounded good for a girly at lunchtime, but was in fact a dried up tail of batter from the freezer. On both visits, spaced a week apart,the coffee machine was broken. A large screen at the end of the bar plays the news, complete with oft hysterically mistranslated subtitles for the deaf. The place was pretty empty. I'm sure you can get a decent cocktail in the evening, but by day I would head down Trumpington street to Browns for an altogether more vibrant atmosphere and better food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank onlooker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The usual”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a decent pub located near the Univ. of Cambridge and Trumpington St. Average food and okay beer selection makes this place.....well, average for cambridge. It is what it is and nothing more.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank xtalguy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Average food, not too bad for value”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Went there for brunch, my girlfriend ordered an egg benedict which was quite okay and i got a full breakfast. The sausages were horrible but the mushroom is great. Paid 11 pounds for both with a latte, 25% off with a student card. Not too bad for value

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EANSHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Snug Bar also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Snug Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing