We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green Man

The Green Man
Ranked #385 of 678 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice place, not entirely a pub, not exactly a restaurant but good food and friendly service.
Tried the sharing plate, but they have many options.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RaistlinMajer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    128
    95
    98
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our previous meals at The Green Man were good quality "pub grub" and we expected the same this time. What a disappointment. My companion said his haddock and chips were "all right I suppose, not bad enough to complain about." My lamb shoulder was tender but swimming in grease. The small portion of mash had some orange smears, which were, I think, sweet potato and there was a huge portion of red cabbage that was so watery and tasteless I think it must have been frozen since christmas. Service was reasonable but no questions were asked about the amount of food we had both left. We left a tip but we wil not be going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JMH248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“enjoyable evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just a meal which was the best of ever eatenthe food was hot,fresh the service was spot on the person who ssrved us is calleed antonio he was olite and was there our evefy need

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vivienne n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“very homely and welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

food was amazing excellent service friendly atmosphere and the price was accpetable for their menu, the staff accomodating and nothing was too much trouble

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank cazanne4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Turn the damn heating on!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have eaten here on several occasions as it is convenient for both us and my elderly mother-in-law.

The food is OK as it is one of the few places which always has my favourite of 'Moules et Frites'. However the puddings are all freezer puds: my 'hot' chocolate sponge was barely warm.

My biggest gripe is that each time the place has been damned cold. Everyone today was sitting in the bar in coats and scarves. Everyone was drinking hot drinks in a pub that serves some quite unusual beers. The radiators are stone cold each time.

I regret to say that the expectation, given the prices charged, that one can enjoy the meal in comfort will not be realised. The cold is a regular feature so I suggest avoiding this place unless you are dressed for Artic conditions.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoPilsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Man also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Trumpington, Cambridge
 
Grantchester, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Green Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing