We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice pie”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Green Man

The Green Man
Ranked #402 of 683 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice pie”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Phenomenal service and a cracking steak and ale pie. This quintessentially British pub is a credit to the greater Cambridge area and Emily behind the bar was very accommodating with my needs. Thank you to all the staff at THE GREEN MAN IN TRUMPINGTON.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominiceatsfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    130
    95
    101
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food,family friendly,top class service,we will visit again very soon!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Had such a lovely time at the green man last Saturday evening when we celebrated my daughters birthday,food was delicious with excellent choices for the younger members of our party too!Excellent friendly service from Adam and his team :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenCdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OUR DAUGHTERS 21st BIRTHDAY MEAL”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked a table to celebrate our daughter's 21st birthday.we were given plenty of time to make our choices,But when the waiting staff came out with the starters when asking who had ordered what instead of walking round the table to place the dishes in front of the person they handed them arcoss the table over peoples heads,to which we were not impressed with.Some of our guests had ordered the sticky chicken which was very dry and the chicken was on the small side.The beef & bacon pie crust was burnt with very little filling.No one came round the see if everything was ok.We had trouble in trying to order more drinks three memebers of our table asked to order more drinks three quarters of an hour later one of the waiters took our order. Also no one cleared away any of the dirty glasses. When our other courses came out we had to wait for more cutlery which we had to ask for before we could eatThe waiting staff managed to ruin the atmoshpere as after ordering another round of drinks then paying the bill,we were then told that we had to leave with out being able to finish full glasses paying for something we were not allowed to finish.Just because they were having some work done to the resturant floor we were not given the opition to take our drinks that we had paid to the bar area to finish.Even my daughter who's birthday it was said the staff had just ruined the party by telling us we had to leave. So as you can imagine we will not be going back.Seams as if the Greenman needs more staff the those all ready there could do with more training.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 52Jane966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Start Poor, Got Worse in the Middle and Tailed off towards the farcical End”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We visited The Green Man on Thursday 15th November and can honestly say it was extremely average at best. We had been invited by some friends to celebrate their daughters 21st birthday. Car park absolutely full and had to park some way away. Bar staff ok and seemed reasonably friendly but when told by a member of the restaurant staff that the table was ready, we were asked to follow rather than to come through at our leisure.
I have to admit that we were given a good time to make our choices and didn’t feel rushed at that point. That, regrettably, is where the good stuff ends.
We had to ask 3 times when wanting to order drinks and after approximately three quarters of an hour someone came to take the order. Regarding the food, several dishes were on the small side for the amount charged and seemed to be missing an element, i.e. my daughter didn’t have any salad with her burger and chips and my wife had overdone pie crust on her bowl of hot air. The request for clean cutlery was eventually fulfilled.
After some more drinks had been ordered we now had an abundance of dirty glasses that remained on the table. Being aware of the reason for the meal at time of booking, we much appreciated the small bowl of ice cream with a candle in it being given to the birthday girl!!!!
The few desserts ordered were of no more than average quality but the coup de grace came when, having just after ordered some more drinks, we were advised that we would have to leave because of the licensing hours. Within 5 minutes we were reminded that we were required to leave and we were ushered out as they had arranged to have some work done on the restaurant floor. We were not given the opportunity to sit in the bar and finish the last of our drinks. It was pointed out to the staff they had manage to ruin the atmosphere of her 21st as we were, basically, thrown out.
Surprisingly, I won’t be visiting there again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ok but food nothing special”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

First visit with friends to celebrate a birthday. Car park was packed with many badly parked cars making it hard to get in and out! Although we were called to our table as our starters were ready they didnt arrive for at least another 20 minutes, when they did arrive, they came is dribs and drabs so by the time everyone had theirs, my soup was cold, although very tasty.
Main courses looked very processed and not much sign of freshly cooked local produce; although on the whole they were tasty and not much was left.
My desert was meant to be chcolate sponge although it did resemble remarkebly the chocolate brownie only difference being one was round the other square! Both were dry and the sponge was in no way spongy!
Not sure I would rush back but its a nice location and ambience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CherryH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Man also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Trumpington, Cambridge
 
Grantchester, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Green Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing