We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alder Lodge Guest House
Ranked #32 of 121 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Value”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in the small single room.The couple who run it where welcoming and professional.The room was very clean with clean linen,tea/coffee making facilities and various bathroom requisites (nice touch).The cooked breakfast was good and plentyful with the option of cafetière coffee, various teas,orange juice and cereals.Although the Alder lodge is about a 45 minute bus trip out of town its well worth a visit as its such good value for money.
Well done Alder lodge

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kjfletcher2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    18
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
20
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This B&B looks modest from the outside, but is comfortable within and absolutely excellent value as well as being warm and cosy with tea and coffee making facilities, Freeview and free wifi. It's a bit out of town bu public transport is good.

A bargain.

Room Tip: Kings Hedges road might be busy on a weekday so a room at the back is likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisABirmingham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Alder Lodge is a lovely B&B and I was very impressed with my 2 night stay here on a business trip. I stayed in the small single with bathroom downstairs at a cost of £25 per night. It was definitely worth it. I did not particularly mind that my bathroom was downstairs, as it saved me a lot of money.The room always had the heating on when you came in from the cold outside and was very clean. The bed was well presented, with clean linen, and was very comfortable. The TV had many Freeview channels and free WiFi was available, which is always a great benefit when you have work to do. The bathroom was also very clean and modern. A wonderful brilliant breakfast service is provided. It was absolutely gorgeous! Fresh orange juice, a range of cereals and hot drinks to choose from, and a wonderful cooked breakfast by a friendly chef, who always asked if everything was okay. I would definitely recommend staying here and will do so myself if I ever need to visit Cambridge again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SARAHandJAMES1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The guest house is located off a main road and is located on the corner of a side street, there isn't a large sign up, so you need to look out for it. The lodge is a short drive from Cambridge University. There was parking available on the drive (for about 3 cars) and some around the corner on the side street.

The welcome was moderate/warm and we were shown our twin on suite room straight away. The room was clean with modern decor (bedding, lamps and bedside tables and cupboard (with hangers in it)). The bed was comfy and heat was on before we entered the room so it nice and cosy, and kept on all night. The bathroom had clean fresh towels and soap/shampoo/shower gel was provided. There was tea/coffee and hot chocolate facilities in the bedroom.

Breakfast was served between 8 and 9 am and was provided in the downstairs back extension. It was cooked to a good standard (we had a traditional English). We were asked to help ourself to juice and cereal and later offered more toast! :-)

I think £57 a night for a twin en-suite is a bit dear! Although i booked well in advance. There wasn't any exchange of words upon leaving, which would have been nice.

The guest house is fine for a few days stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doyouwanttocome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Alder Lodge is an excellent B&B, very clean, with comfortable, fresh bed linen and the breakfasts are excellent. It is really good value for money with the advantage of free parking directly outside the house and a bus stop across the road - 20 minute ride into the centre of Cambridge.

We have stayed there on several occasions and look forward to doing so again in the near future.

Room Tip: Apparently rooms at the back of the house are quieter, although traffic noise has never been an issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpatk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night & were very happy with what we found. Free parking right outside the house, quiet & comfortable bedroom that had everything we could possibly need. The free wifi was a big plus for us, as was the generous size of the room. The cooked breakfast the next morning was absolutely gorgeous & the location is great, nice walk into cambridge & back with no issues at all. I would highly recommend a stay here, couldn't fault it at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evergreenworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here for just the one night but from arrival we were very happy with the level of service offered by Alder Lodge. The room was spacious, well presented and clean. The bed was comfortable and the free wifi was a bonus. Breakfast the following morning was plentyful and well cooked. The only slightly negative thing I could say is that the onsite parking was a gravel area that was tricky to get on to because of the lack of dropped kerbs
Overall we would happily recommed this b&b

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
The George Inn
#44 of 121 in Cambridge
9 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arbury Lodge
Arbury Lodge
#35 of 121 in Cambridge
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Harry's Bed and Breakfast
Harry's Bed and Breakfast
#34 of 121 in Cambridge
140 reviews
1.5 mi away
Autumn House Bed & Breakfast
Autumn House Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 121 in Cambridge
315 reviews
1.1 mi away
Home from Home
Home from Home
#21 of 121 in Cambridge
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alder Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Lodge Guest House

Property: Alder Lodge Guest House
Address: 116 Kings Hedges Road, Cambridge CB4 2PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Alder Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing