We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friendly and excellent Italian restaurant beside the river”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Mimosa

La Mimosa
Ranked #56 of 683 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A friendly and excellent Italian restaurant beside the river”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Had an excellent meal- all of of us had different starters and pasta dishes with side salad. All good and staff were friendly, the atmostphere was very relaxed. This was dinner with old friends and we stayed for ages with no pressure to vacate the table. A thoroughly enjoyable meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    106
    39
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unitalian but Tasty Pizza”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is the place to get a really good tasty pizza with a side order of guilty pagan hedonism. There is so much oil on the pizza, it was practically deep fried. It's not exactly the kind of pizza that the Italians like eating, but my god is it tasty.

The seating looks more like a run down canteen than a restaurant with bread sticks in plastic wrappers. It's really not the place to take diplomats or an Italian friend, but if you want to dip your face into olive oil, I suggest that you go here discreetly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Buyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Italian?”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

These people are meant to be able to cook the best pasta around. It was not the case when my wife and I ate there this August.I had lasagne It was fairly bland and also the temperature varied, quite cold in places and hot in others. To me this was made hours ago and chucked in a microwave. It was advertised as "fresh pasta" I dont think so.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“What every town needs: a good Italian”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were there is a group and no need to rush away so we were perhaps not the most critical of clientel but we didn't need to be. Fairly standard Italian menu so nothing to challenge the diner but pretty good and well presented. Service friendly and excellent as you'd expect from a Benedetto establishment. The location is perfect if it's a nice day but even when you've got to sit inside it's pleasant, light and airy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamer
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet on the river Cam”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

A hidden terrace close to the river so that you can watch the punts go by and the waterfowl. Very nice staff, too. The food is ok.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LMFLMamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mimosa also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to La Mimosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing