We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable friendly stay in Cambridge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cambridge City Tenison Towers
Ranked #41 of 122 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable friendly stay in Cambridge”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed at Tenison Towers, which is ran by the lovely Inga.
Affordable, comfortable and convenient for the train station. Inga cant do enough for you and her breakfasts were always welcome and filling. Real homely feel about the place

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    48
    17
    4
    13
See reviews for
28
35
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Wanting to just see some of the university, this B&B is a good place for a stop over in the city if you're taking the train. Five minutes from the station on foot and you're right there. The rooms are nice and the breakfast was excellent. However, I would prefer the owner to mellow out a bit. She seems to be under the constant assumption that something terrible is about to happen. This comment isn't a slight against her, but it can be off-putting as a guest. Perhaps she needs to hire on some help to take some of the load off.

Room Tip: We had #1 right by the front door. It had three single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

just got back from a weekend break to Cambridge and we stayed at tension towers b&b. The rooms were clean and well set out, bed was so comfy it was like sleeping in your own. Inga looked after us and made a lovely breakfast. Close to the centre which was a plus as we did not have far to walk to any of the attractions we saw

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at Tenison Towers for a week in May. The guesthouse is conveniently located close to the train station and it is approximately a 10-15 minute walk from the city centre. The room was a little bit small but very clean accompanied with tea making facilities. Inga, the hostess is very friendly, helpful and polite. When the neighborhood had an electricity problem she was there to provide us with flashlights. As far as the breakfast is concerned besides the typical full English breakfast (with eggs, bacon, sausages, beans etc) there is also the option of cereal, muffins, some fruit and yogurt. Overall, we had a great stay and would definitely recommend it to other budget travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellethwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The guesthouse was extremely clean which is a big plus for me. The English breakfast done by Inga ( The owner) was great and so were her muffins!

Only downside was the inability to retain the room past the 10 a.m. checkout. She did however let me stay in the room till 11 a.m. There was storage for my bags as I roamded around Cambridge to pass time. It would be worth investing a common bath/toilet for those leaving later.

And GBP 50 is quite steep for a room where I have to walk across the hallway to the bath and toilet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savannah_Rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

It was a great experience here. We arrived late (at 9pm) but the staff kindly arranged everything comfortably. The English breakfast was great and more surprisingly, when we came back from the town on the afternoon of the second day, we were greeted by yummy hot muffin!!! The starf was very helpful in introducing the town and she was so easy-going to have a chat with.
The room has all what it should have. Wifi is pretty nice inside the room. It is very close to the train station but is 15min walk away from the colleges area.
To sum up, it's a very nice stay here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frikqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a fantastic find, especially since there has been a change in owners recently. Inga is so friendly and very eager to help. Her homemade breakfast is also excellent everything is clean and probably what those in the know would call trendy. It is not possible to find a better place for this price and the location is very good.

Room Tip: There is only one single room, so you'll need to book it well in advance if that is what you nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#19 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fenners Hotel
Fenners Hotel
#30 of 36 in Cambridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rathmore
The Rathmore
#84 of 122 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Arbury Lodge
Arbury Lodge
#40 of 122 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
A & B Guest House
A & B Guest House
#36 of 122 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norwich Street Apartments - Peymans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge City Tenison Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge City Tenison Towers

Property: Cambridge City Tenison Towers
Address: 148 Tenison Road, Cambridge CB1 2DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cambridge City Tenison Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge City Tenison Towers Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing