We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cambridge City Tenison Towers
Ranked #37 of 122 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Cambridge
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Yes, I would stay there again. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Good location, safe area, good wifi, good breakfast.

There are a few places along the same strip, all close to the station, so its a good bet to head here to try your luck for a room if you have not made prior arrangements and have just lobbed in to Cambridge (not that an organised traveler would ever do that ;-) ).

Room Tip: The double rooms are much nicer than the single ones. Room #4 was nice. Room #6 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    48
    16
    4
    13
See reviews for
27
35
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Republic of Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

March 2013, due to the extended wintry season, it was very cold in Cambridge. Requested her to leave the heater on in the night. Was told heater was switched on till 9 pm daily. On the 2nd day, went back to B&B at about 5 pm and again the heater was not working. So after my dinner, went over to house 138, where the owner is staying, hoping she would come over to switch the heater on but nobody answered the door. Sure it comes with full English breakfast. The worst I ever had. Will I come back - NO.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toytoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Yet again a very pleasant and enjoyable stay, I was made to feel so welcome and was looked after very well, comfortable beds as usual A wonderful homely place to stay. Thank you Frances, I will be back soon. xxx

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie-anneW76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The website states "Competitive rates with full English breakfast included." This is NOT TRUE. I rented a small single room in this B&B for £50 per night and a Full English was not included. Instead the Landlady said I could have a "continental breakfast" which transpired to be a box of Cornflakes. The Full English was going to cost extra. As you can imagine I was utterly disgusted as I was renting the room for a substantial period of time. Please be careful that you clarify what breakfast is included in the price before you book.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My son had an interview at Trinity College in Dec 2012. We checked the listing of places to stay on the Cambridge website and chose Tenison Towers because of the Lonely Planet review. I must say that we were very pleased with our choice. The place is quaint but modern, bright and clean inside with new modern ensuite bathrooms. We were very comfortable. We are from the Caribbean and the temperature was -2 degrees outside. The heating indoors felt like we were back home, and my son even went to breakfast barefoot!
The beds had new comforters in a blue and white floral design with matching curtains, and the walls were white. The toilet flushed and the hot water worked. There was a chest of drawers and bedside tables, a place to hang clothes, a wicker chair and a tray with a tea kettle, tea bags, coffee, sugar, creamer, cups and spoons.
The place is within walking distance of the train station, the main shopping areas and colleges. Lots of places to eat.
The breakfast room has a Swedish Ikea look, bright and airy. Breakfasts were sumptuous, a choice of cereals, orange juice, milk, eggs, bacon, toast, butter, marmalade, sausages, baked beans, mushroms, tea, coffee, fruit, yogurt and yes, homemade muffins, made from scratch.

This B&B is obviously well managed, with attention paid to detail. The rooms are cleaned every day. The manager is charming and helpful. She advised us and called taxis for us. She even slipped the muffin recipe under our door on the last day. Among the constant flow of guests was a British couple whose daughter also had an interview at Cambridge, an extended Italian family and a couple from Kazakhstan with a baby. We heard the manager chatting away in Kazakh! So if you're on a budget and have no intention of paying 375 pound a night for the Hilton, this is the place. I highly recommmend it and I would stay there again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The landlady of Tenison Towers in Cambridge is offering what we consider as something of the very best hospitality we have ever met. She is welcoming and serviceminded and is always focused on giving her guests here best advices for the stay. The B&B is clean, offers good beds and a full english breakfast. And if you have some spesial needs regarding luggage or transport, she will help and guide, and so will here staff. Tenison Towers is situated just a few hundred meters from the railway station. If you want to walk to the city centre it will take you about 10 to 15 minutes. Quiet part of the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My family was here for some days and we had great time here. The rooms we had were nice and clean with comfortable beds and with en-suite bathroom. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The BandB is in a great location, very close to the railway station and in about 15 min walking, you are in the city centre of Cambridge. Breakfast was excellent: a great variety and quality in the products offered. Everything in the rooms and bathroom worked perfectly. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#20 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fenners Hotel
Fenners Hotel
#30 of 36 in Cambridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rathmore
The Rathmore
#81 of 122 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Arbury Lodge
Arbury Lodge
#36 of 122 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
A & B Guest House
A & B Guest House
#32 of 122 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norwich Street Apartments - Peymans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge City Tenison Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge City Tenison Towers

Property: Cambridge City Tenison Towers
Address: 148 Tenison Road, Cambridge CB1 2DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cambridge City Tenison Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge City Tenison Towers Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing