We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clifton Lodge Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in High Wycombe
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

£55 for double room, a good place to stay if your working away, clean, tidy. Food was ok, comfy bed, new bathroom, room small but with free sat tv who cares, lady on reception seemed a bit abrupt at first but when you get to know her she was fine, ( don't know her name) car park could do with more lighting, I'd stay again and I'm a fussy bugger!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rwt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    18
    18
    9
See reviews for
11
21
6
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The location was great for me for "day trips" both east and westbound. Not too far from the shopping centres and lots of nice pubs and restaurants within a couple of kms. The room was quite adequate with a good T.V. and a nice bathroom/toilet. Would have been nice if they had supplied a "face flannel", had to go out and buy my own. Enough wardrobe and drawer space for just me, glad I had brought few Hangers of my own though! A large Parking Lot but on one evening (out of six) a "function" was taking place and I returned with nowhere to park. I found the reception very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was excellent, one of the best I had eaten in a hotel. Nice Gazebo style dining room too! I would have no hesitation in booking this place again as it was good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davewall77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My friend and I recently booked 2 single rooms for just one night. On arrival, no one was in reception and the lights were off in the bar and living area (it was 5.30pm). We rang the bell on the reception desk and after 3 minutes a man appeared. Room was shabby - old , worn pine furniture - a dirty kettle full of limescale, - nothing like the photos seen on the web page. The bathroom was filthy - hairs from the previous person in the bath, dirty toilet brush, limescale around the taps with black dirt, and a shower that leaked from the tubing attached to it. My friend found a pair of pants from the previous person in the drawers! No hot evening meals available half the week so we had to go into town. There was only one other person staying in the hotel but that evening we were both kept awake by the staff and their friends playing cards in the lounge below our rooms.Breakfast the following morning - asked what i wanted by an abrupt northern girl - I asked for a menu as was not given one and had no idea what they offered (hot food wise). Waitress rolled her eyes up to the ceiling and told me what they had. Tea for 2 was served in a tiny tea-pot - barely enough for a cup each. On checking out at 9am - nobody on reception again so just left keys on desk. Our whole experience was of a non-welcoming hotel, dirty shabby room and we paid £55 each for this! We are not returning and have cancelled our booking for the coming weeks.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms as shown in the photos and not above the lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anonymousHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clif1, Owner at Clifton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thankyou for you comments and we were sorry to hear that you had a bad experience.
We understood that you had been before and put you in the same room as before.
We were sorry that we could have managed the cleaning better in one of the rooms.
If you had said we would have upgraded you to another room.The rooms are not shabby they have been decorated and the bathroom has been renovate to a high standard 8 months ago.
It appears that you do not like pine furniture and apologise if this was a problem.

We unfortunately do not continually stand at reception on Sunday because there is a need to carry out other work in the hotel especially when it is quiet.
The bar was shut on Sunday also because it was quiet. If you had asked for a drink we would have served you but it was apparent that you had planned to go out.
We also advertise and make it known that we do not open the restaurant or bar on Sundays but would always serve sandwiches and drinks.

The lounge was below your room and we apologise if it kept you awake. The lounge was open for all guests to use and was shut at 10.00 pm
We normally discuss your breakfast requirements usually instead of giving a menu and continually top up teapots as stated on the day to keep the tea fresh .We also do not remember even being asked for a menu.
We were disappointed that you implied our staff member speaks with an abrupt northern accent.This is very hurtful and personal. Our staff member is very polite and humble and does not deserve this type of comment on an open forum just because she is northern.This could be considered as a form of cyber bullying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these High Wycombe hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Only one night but staff very helpful. Ordered taxi on our behalf. Room in seperate building with keycode entry suited our needs as very late return to hotel. Large room and excellent new shower suite. Breakfast really good.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gezspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here with work mates for five nights (there were 8 of us). My room (6A) was perfect.
Spotless and comfy, nice big shower cubicle, plenty of hot water and if you turned it up to full pressure was like a jet wash! Great! Flat screen tv with freeview channels. Clean towels every day
Breakfast was good, plenty of choice. Evening meal was just as good, extensive menu with generous helpings. Bar choice was limited with Becks Vier on tap and good stock of red wine. Nicely laid out hotel with very friendly staff and plenty of car parking space. would stay there again if working in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert-Jamilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
422 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I was met at reception by a rather brusque northern girl, who more or less barked her orders at me to fill in the register which was rather off putting before i got any further!

the wood chip walls do rather date this place and when i got to my room i found they had 'upgraded' me to a double room which was a nice surprise as i had only been able to book a single room on-line.

i have to say that although the room was very dated, it was spotless.
the tv was of the old fashioned type which had a free view box plugged into which is fair enough but the free view box had a remote control whereas unfortunately the tv it self didnt. So just at that point when you are falling asleep and want to zap it off, you had to crawl out of bed to turn the tv off with a button!
lets face it though, that's no big deal just unexpected in this day and age.

the bathroom really let this place down though for me.
a big pink corner bath, bidet, toilet and sink. very dated with the public loo type floor tiles. not very nice. the bath had a Jacuzzi feature which i wouldn't use even in the most expensive hotels. No shower!! even if i would have used the bath, i didn't have time to use one - i was rushing to get out so i had to forego a proper wash and just wash at the sink.

having said all that, there was plenty of hot water & clean towels.

it sounds like from the other reviews posted that they are refurbishing some rooms so maybe i was just unlucky and got a room they hadn't done yet (room 2)

breakfast was nice but the same gruff girl that met me on reception was hiding in the kitchen and politely told me off when i had to go to the kitchen to find someone to take my order

would i stay again?? probably not out of choice but i wouldn't totally rule it out if i couldn't get a more modern place to stay.

Room Tip: i stayed in room 2 which was on the ground floor through the restaurant. even though it was on the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roamingjode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

When unable to book in at our regular B & B in High Wycombe, inspite of a couple of negative reports of situations that can happen in any hotel, we booked in at `Clifton Lodge`.
We were not disappointed, our room consisted of lovely new oak furniture, the bed was very clean and comfortable which was a relief as my wife has servere back problems with spotless freshly laundered white bedding. Although the easy chair had been spoilt by a spillage stain.
The Power shower cubicle was spotless and a luxury to enjoy.
A full breakfast enjoyed in the conservatory was superb and well cooked, the bacon the best i`ve tasted for a long time.
Our Host was attentive and gave us a cheerful start to the day inspite of the wet and gloomy atmoshere with the weather.
Would we return Yes ! Without doubt. Thankyou again for our stay and wonderful Breakfast.

The only down side was, that had we required it, there was only a single wardrobe, but to have fitted a double would have spoiled the feeling of space in the room.

Room Tip: Although the buiding is set well back of the main road this room being at the front did pick up a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank secretsanta_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Wycombe
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Court Hotel
Ambassador Court Hotel
#6 of 14 in High Wycombe
71 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge High Wycombe Central
Travelodge High Wycombe Central
#3 of 14 in High Wycombe
390 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Beaconsfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4
1.1 mi away
Abbey Lodge Hotel
Abbey Lodge Hotel
#9 of 14 in High Wycombe
164 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rye Court Hotel
Rye Court Hotel
#7 of 14 in High Wycombe
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Lodge Hotel

Property: Clifton Lodge Hotel
Address: 210 West Wycombe Road, High Wycombe HP12 3AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in High Wycombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Clifton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Lodge Hotel High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing