We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mowchak

Mowchak
Ranked #26 of 213 Restaurants in High Wycombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mowchak is the Quality Indian cuisine and English Bar provides a tremendous choice of exceptional quality Indian meals with very traditional Indian flavours. Specially picked spices and the expertise of our chef made Taste of Paradise Quality Balti Restaurant & Takeaway a unique name in its kind. To enjoy and test the taste of real Indian foods, you are more than welcome in here. Kitchen team is very keen to demonstrate their culinary skills, flexibility and passion for Indian cooking. Chefs are very happy to style any dish to suit your taste and even prepare specials according to your need. And if you're planning an event and want to serve your guests something special, have a chat with us about catering for your event on or off menu. You can be confident in the quality of product as it's made by expert and experiance chefs. We are not the cheapest, but definitely the best as quality is the foundation of Delihi-6 Quality Balti Restaurant & Takeaway, the exclusive Indian cuisine.
Stokenchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Living in Stokenchurch and being curry fans we get takeaways from here very regularly and have done for about five years now.

I was disappointed to see negative comments on Trip Advisor as we genuinely think the food from the Mowchak is excellent quality and friends/family always agree when they join us for a takeaway/eat in. It is hard to find a better curry in our opinion.

A key thing for me in curry is the quality of the meat and Mowchak have never let us down with the Lamb and Chicken always being good quality and good portions! Likewise the onion bhajis and naan bread are excellent too.

Staff are never anything but very friendly and helpful.

Five years on we're yet to enter the bar side though so cannot comment there!

Again, the negative reviews are very surprising hence I felt the need to write a review myself!

Tim

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nobywan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    28
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Friendly and hard working”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'm reasonably local and have been here at least a dozen times. The same staff continue to work there and know the regulars, they are attentive although busy. Service from the kitchen can take a while at busy times as there is a busy take away business as well.

The outside of the restaurant is almost unchanged from when it was a pub and doesn't look inviting at all. Get over that and try either the pub side furthest from the car park entrance (doors back and front) and sample a beer or head into the restaurant. We are always made welcome, the linen and staff are very neat and the menu is extensive enough without being daunting. the interior is light years ahead of what you'd expect to find given the outside.

There are numerous chefs recommendations which include some I've not seen elsewhere and the Mowchak Special is really good. The spice level can vary from day to day!

Excellent breads, good flavours, Rebellion beer on draught and a good price point. You'll be full at £20 a head including a couple of beers and that will probably also leave you a doggie bag which they are happy to provide.

Not sure why there are a few negative reviews - I've never had a problem and have been in plenty of curry houses over 30 years. It may not be the best but it has never pretended to be so - just a decent curry for a decent price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingZel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice people but old fashioned food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Expensive and average
Food swims in toxic red ghee, come on, Indian food has moved forward and is now cooked to a healthier recipe.
Service is good they just need to serve better food.
Do yourself as favour and drive ten minutes further to the excellent Chinnor Indian in Chinnor.
To sum up, back street food at west end prices

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fayretrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the worst curry houses I know, if you want a good quality curry go somewhere else!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Ok, for my sins, I have been here about five times and each time (except) the first, it was under duress...and only because a friend (local to the area) was having their birthday meal there. I know curry's quite well, having lived in many cities/towns where curries were the norm. Anyway, back to the review and it still amazes me this place is still open and people go back to it, I can only assume, that being in Stockenchurch, there is no competition to compare in the town! Granted, the rice is fine and so too is the Nann bread...but it is the curry that is key. And this is where it is let down, the quality of the food is poor/cheap, for example, using whole tinned plum tomatoes to make a Rogan Josh (no fresh tomatoes) is not what I am paying £10 for. More than that, the favours are either dull or overly sharp...flavour is generally lacking. Plus, beyond common sense, they always seem to seat large groups between the ceiling pillars that are on one side of the restaurant, especially when the other side is free from pillars and could be used instead. The staff also seam to be lacking in language skills or comprehension, so even speaking to them is not easy, with a couldn't care less attitude. So if you want a tasty curry, there are sooooo many other places to chose from in the local area, so why even choose here, it is the worse curry house I know, and this is consistent over several visits...only ever repeating the disappointing experience to be sociable for birthday friends, but hate handing over cash for such a poor curry. Sorry, I love my curry's just not here...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mark_fensome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandria, Cyprus
Level Contributor
117 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Had many takeaways from the Mowchack and have loved every meal. Consistently good quality: give it a go.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AlnLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mowchak also viewed

Stokenchurch, High Wycombe
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Mowchak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing