We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What do people expect ?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in High Wycombe
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel is a good three star establishment. We initially had a standard room that overlooked the courtyard, it was fine but the phone and safe did not work. Sam the duty manager dealt with the problems efficiently and moved us to an executive room which was no different in size but had an ironing board and robes.
The breakfast was O.K. but I have an aversion to cutting my own bread { all those hands that have touched it} please bring back bread roll and tongs.
All the staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful.
Wifi was free as Ihg rewards club member.

Room Tip: Backing on to the courtyard is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank grotbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 578 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2014

This chain hotel is typical of the brand and does nothing to differentiate itself from the rest. The room was fine and the food was as expected.

Rather surprised that having paid slightly more to include dinner and breakfast in the rate was then charged for having a standard (set menu) dinner. Apparently the allowance is £12 and if you have more than that you have to pay. This is annoying because it wasn't explained at check-in and it means there is no point paying the extra rate for the room - just pay for the meal when you have it - it costs the same and you can choose what you like.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the M40 and A404 sides are much quiter. Ask for one facing the inner courtyard. Wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyAquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear AndyAquila,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. It is unfortunate that you were not satisfied with your stay. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

I hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located with reasonably nice lawned grounds.
The twin room I had was slightly cramped with no significant space between the beds. However the beds were comfortable, TV pretty good. Air conditioning great. Bathroom functional with a good shower.
However the room service was appalling. When I dialled room service (convenient hotline button on the phone yeah!) The phone rang for ages I mean literally more than 10 minutes. I decided to ring reception to ask them what had happened to room service. Yes you guessed right, no one picked up that call either!
In the end I walked to reception and asked what on earth was going on and was told to go to the bar and ask for room service there!
In the end the food was delivered to our room, but, it has to be said, it wasn't the greatest especially considering the price. A £6 (not including the tray charge) prawn & asparagus mayo sandwich should be awesome, but it was barely adequate. My son gave his 'cheesy macaroni' a paltry 6/10
My remaining gripe is the price of the wifi. £16 for 24 hours. Absolute rip off!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JeepneyJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear JeepneyJu,

thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I wanted to take this opportunity to apologise for the problems you encountered and assure you that we will be following up your comments to ensure we do not repeat the errors made. I am delighted to let you know that Wi-Fi is complimentary for all IHG Rewards members and you can sign up at the front desk to get immediate free internet access throughout the hotel.

yours sincerely

Richard Metcalfe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Checking in was efficient until we arrived at the room and found we had been allocated two rooms. This was quickly resolved. The room was adequate for a short weekend, and convenient for access to the motorway and local facilities, although out of town.
All well until returning for the evening for a night cap. Whew prices! Double what I pay in my local.
On turning back the bed to climb in - bloodstain on the duvet cover!?
Immediately called reception. Recalled 15 minutes later to be told "We are very busy"! After a further 15 minutes a clean duvet cover arrived, which I helped change. (Taking into consideration the route march to some rooms, the second 15 minutes wasn't too bad). Difficult sleep.
This hotel has only its access to London and the motorway to recommend it.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a long walk from reception. Weekend case only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank rtewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear RteWalker,

thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The team and I are obviously very concerned and disappointed by your comments and I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss these with you directly, I you can contact me at Richard.Metcalfe@ihg.com and I look forward to hearing from you.

regards

Richard Metcalfe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was clean and the room spacious. Food good!
Staff friendly and great with kids.
However, the room bookings for the party I met with were generally wrong. They overbook, so if you are late checking in you may not get the room you want.
Also check your bill the computer system changed the room rate overnight. Fortunately spotted.
Also use Charlie's local taxis to get around. Hotel booked one far more pricey.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank JAMES G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear JamesG

many thanks for your review of our hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the food and I would like to use this opportunity to apologise for any issues you encountered with your groups booking and we will be reviewing your feedback in our weekly management meeting to ensure that future guests are not in the same position.

regards

Richard Metcalfe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Functional and convenient for M40, Marlow and London. Frankie & Benny's near by.

Bar staff very friendly but reception staff mostly in training. Eat breakfast in hotel which was OK but nothing special. I have eaten out in the evening every time I've stayed here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear Chris S,

many thanks for your review and I am delighted to let you know that our new reception team member has completed their training. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. Regards

Richard Metcalfe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I recently stayed 2 nights in the hotel for a wedding with my wife.

As i pulled into the car park I thought I was pulling into an industrial estate. The entrance is flanked by boarded up shops and the hotel looks like a motorway service area. This didn't put me off too much as I have stayed in premier lodges and travelodges before and they usually look similar. When you go inside the reception and restaurant areas are pleasant enough and seem to have been done up recently. They have however neglected the rest of the communal areas, which resemble a retirement home (and smell like it too).

The booking in process was quite poor, we had to wait over 1/2 hour as they had run out of room keys. I was they shocked to learn that they charge £16 each for breakfast or £11 if you book it when you check in. This is too much!

We had booked a double standard room. The room was the smallest I had ever been in. The bathroom was ok, but despite being a non-smoking room, it stank of smoke. The bedroom area was around 9ft by 6ft 5in (I was able to touch both rooms at the same time!). The mattress was terrible, very lumpy and felt extremely cheap. They give you 2 pillow options of soft and hard, but both feel the same and are very lumpy. The room had full height sliding shutters instead of curtains. The shutters had a gap in them where the light shone through. On top of that there was a fire door outside the room, which was banging all night as people walked through it (Ever heard of soft closing doors!). All in all the worst nights sleep I had in a while. This was not unusual as I stayed in a holiday Inn 12 months prior and had similar problems.

When I complained I spoke to a very helpful man named Rav or Raz and he immediately changed us to a deluxe room, which was like a normal room (Ie twice the size of the other room). I had a much more comfortable night and he gave us free breakfast the next morning. This is the reason I didn't rate the hotel as terrible. If you stay in the hotel the deluxe room is ok.

The breakfast the next morning was ok, but by 9am when we got there, everything was gone. I would not have paid £11 for it.

In conclusion, I will never stay in a holiday inn again. Having experienced 2 poor Holiday Inn's in 12mths I would recommend Premier Inn or Travelodge over them any day.

Room Tip: If you stay at the hotel, do not stay in a standard room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Neijon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear Neijon,

thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I wanted to use this opportunity to apologise for the problems you encountered. I have asked my maintenance manager to assess each rooms shutters, as they are designed to give a black out state in the room and so no light should creep through. I was comforted to hear that we upgraded your room and you will be pleased to know that councils redevelopment of the Hand Cross area into a social and business hub continues.

regards

Richard Metcalfe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Wycombe
1.4 mi away
Travelodge High Wycombe Central
Travelodge High Wycombe Central
#4 of 14 in High Wycombe
453 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ambassador Court Hotel
Ambassador Court Hotel
#5 of 14 in High Wycombe
84 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Marlow
1.8 mi away
Rye Court Hotel
Rye Court Hotel
#8 of 14 in High Wycombe
22 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Kings Hotel
The Kings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stokenchurch
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4

Address: Handy Cross, High Wycombe HP11 1UP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in High Wycombe
Price Range: $80 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40 Jct4 Hotel is ideally located close to M40 with easy links to the M25 and M4, the hotel offers Free Parking with the Park and Ride a short distance away, taking you through Cressex Business Park and into the heart of High Wycombe. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travelers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*Facilities include 112 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, WiFi, High Speed Internet Access. State-of-the-art Academy Conference and Banqueting facilities (up to 200 people). The Open Lobby and bar offer tempting dishes from around the world including the award winning Holiday Inn breakfast. The newly extended business lounge offers 124 seats in comfortable surroundings, perfect for informal business meetings, interviews or just meeting with friends where we proudly serve Starbucks and light snacks all day along with free Wi-Fi . Accessible bedrooms with low level bed and specially adapted bathroom facilities. Family and interconnecting rooms available. The hotel is ideal for families with local attractions like Legoland Windsor, Hellfire Caves West Wycombe, Windsor Castle, Swan Theatre, Bekonscot Model Village, Henley Regatta, Bicester Village as well as historic areas such as Marlow and Oxford within easy driving distance. 15 minutes by train direct to Wembley Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn High Wycombe m40, Jct.4 Hotel High Wycombe
High Wycombe Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4 Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing