We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deteriorating as a food destination”

The Three Horseshoes Inn Restaurant
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Set in the natural splendour of the Chiltern Hills, The Three Horseshoes Inn is a quaint foodie destination set inside a free house that dates back to 1745. With the flagstone floors, blackened beams and inglenook fireplaces still intact, The Three Horseshoes restaurant has been reinvented as a stylish hub of home-cooking and hospitality that has been a hit with everyone from locals to celebrities such as Dame Judi Dench and Jay Kay. The unpretentious restaurant has an airy, boutiquey atmosphere and signature dishes such as the free range pork and smoked bacon terrine with fig chutney and the fillet of sea bass in a ginger, garlic and chilli dressing have become legendary in epicurious circles.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Deteriorating as a food destination”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We are local and this is closer than The Charles Napier - we have eaten here 3 times over the last 30 months and the decline is marked as it is in the Good Pub Guide. Something is not good enough to attract sufficient foodies to what is a remote and difficult to get to location to make this a viable proposition to sustain a really good kitchen. The last meal I had here and the last meal I'll ever have here was not good; the over-ripe, if not sulphuric, brie caused a problem which I will not describe for decencies sake. So a great place for a beer in summer when the outside allows a vision of a bucolic idyll, but don't go just for the food. With the Napier, The Hand and Flowers and the Nags Head in a reasonable circumference why would you?

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank risottofungi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    22
    8
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you want a place to stay, away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life then this is the place to come. The rooms are lovely and the pub has a warm friendly atmosphere. Eating wise the food is of an excellent standard and the breakfast are outstanding. Would definitely recommend staying here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessPeach99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very cold welcome”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Popped in on a Sunday morning for a coffee with my wife her uncle (who is a local to the area) and our dog Fergus.

We arrived at 11.30 at the snug side of the bar which apparently welcomes dogs and walkers. The door was unlocked so we went in sat down and tried to order our coffees.

We were told by a very polite bar maid the pub couldn't serve us till 12.00, but we could wait till the pub opened. No problem. We had walked over an hour to be there so we were happy so sit minding our business reading a paper.

Ten minutes later and after a number of woeful glances from the bar manager, he asked us if we could leave as the table in the snug was reserved. I wouldn't say he was rude, but he was cold and for someone who works with the public pretty short.

Needless to say my wife's uncle who lives in the local area and had suggested the pub stop was very embarrassed.

I work in the drinks industry and the pub trade specifically, and I know the pressure pubs and the people who work in them are under, but there is no excuse for poor manners and poor customer service.

I hope this was a one off but to be honest we won't be returning to find out. Three paying customers lost.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlitterAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodez, Midi-Pyrenees, France
Level Contributor
85 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Desserts to die for”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Partook of lunch here on successive Sundays pre Xmas and whilst the main courses were, with one exception,very good, I have to say that the desserts were exceptional and worth making the visits alone. The service was very friendly if a little inexperienced. Would have been 5 stars had any form of Pastis been available on either occasion !

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigdaddy3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great lunch during Chiltern walk”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Took the circular walk from Piddington to Radnage to see the red kites. Our half way stop was the Three Horseshoes. . It was a Thursday lunchtime in January, below zero outside. We sat in the bar area near an open log fire, very snug and welcoming.

We both really enjoyed the goats cheese souffle for starter, my partner thought the burger to be excellent and my fish was delightful.

These was a good range of real ales in addition to a range of wines to suit all tastes.

We spent £65 on 2 courses, 3 glasses of wine and a pot of tea; which I would think is a reasonable price for the offering. Not cheap but you wouldn't expect it to be. There was a more limited menu of the day which was less expensive but we chose main menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iceni_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Horseshoes Inn Restaurant also viewed

High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
Radnage, Buckinghamshire
 
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
Flackwell Heath, High Wycombe
 
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing