We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Squirrel house

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Squirrel house
Ranked #3 of 18 High Wycombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights while working away from home tea coffee sky tv breakfast wi-fi wot more can I say I will be back Asda cinema. Loads of places to eat out with in walking distance thanks Margaret the owner. Ado from doncaster

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adomacdoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 46 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

I've stayed with a friend at the Squirrel House for a whole week in a two beds room with private bathroom and standard breakfast.

The room was very nice, clean and tidy, with confortable beds, free Wi-Fi and sky TV. Breakfasts were excellent, and best of all, Margaret (the owner) is absolutely wonderful. Would recommend the Squirrel House to anyone!

Thank you Margaret and we hope to come back next year! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelSem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed here for a week in July 2012, I booked the twin room after looking on the website and was pleasantly surprised that it was as nice as it looked on the site. A clean fresh room, plenty of space..tea/coffee..ironing board..important to me :-) A lovely 2 person shower, made it a treat to have a shower more times a day than I really needed ! Sky sports and sky movies as well..! Oh and straight across the road is a Co-Op express shop..very handy. Would definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Have stayed at Squirrel House over the past few weeks and have felt completely at home. very clean room, comfortable bed, Sky TV and a lovely bathroom with every shampoo you could ever need.

Breakfasts were always excellent too. Nice one, Margaret - it was a pleasure to stay.

All the best

DJB

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I went to High Wycombe to watch a Derren Brown show at the Swan and relax for a few days. I chose to stay at Squirrel House because of its affordabiliy and location and I wasn't disappointed in any way.

I had a very nice and clean room with a TV set (Yay for Sky!) and a large and very comfy bed. Free WiFi was available, but I didn't get around to using it. My bathroom had floor heating and was also very clean and pleasant looking. It was equipped with a bathrobe, large towels, shower gel, soap and shampoo.

During my rather short stay, my room was frequently serviced.

The breakfast consisted of a homemade fresh fruit salad, orange juice, tea/coffee, toast, jams and a variety of different cereals to choose from. Margaret told me that if my favorite cereal was missing, I should tell her and she would buy it for me. How cool is that? Overall, the service and hospitality I experienced was amazing and reminded me of why I'd rather stay at a cozy family-run B&B than at a large hotel. It really felt like a "home away from home".

About the location: Squirrel House ist directly accross the street from a well stocked supermarket. My window was facing the street and there was a lot of traffic most of the time, but with a closed window I could sleep like a baby. Maybe the traffic could bother people who are very sensitive to sound or who sleep with an open window, but it was no problem for me.

The town centre and central bus station of High Wycombe is in what I consider to be walking distance, but it is quite a long walk through a rather hilly area. Again, something that might be a factor for some people but wasn't for me (I enjoyed the walks). On the day of my departure, I didn't feel like walking with all my luggage, so I took a taxi which cost me just 5 pounds. There is also a bus stop right across the street, so I guess that would be another way to get into town quickly.

I highly recommend Squirrel House to anyone looking for a place to stay in the area. If you are looking for an affordable and comfortable room and a homelike and all around lovely experience, you won't be disappointed. If I should ever be in High Wycombe again for some reason, there's no doubt I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tilman_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

A wonderful overnight stay whilst on business. The house was clean, and felt very homely. The bed is very comfortable, and sleep was uninterrupted. Excellent food, and a wonderful owner.

Many thanks, and I'll be using this for future business visits.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed only one night for a Family Party. Warm welcome from Margaret and her Husband. Lovely warm cozy room and excellent continental breakfast. Fantastic powershower too.
A great find indeed. A real home from home

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these High Wycombe hotels
4 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe / Beaconsfield Hotel
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe Central Hotel
5.8 mi away
The Kings Hotel
The Kings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stokenchurch
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Fox Country Inn
The Fox Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Ibstone
289 reviews
1.8 mi away
George & Dragon
George & Dragon
#1 of 1 in West Wycombe
238 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squirrel house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squirrel house

Address: 129 New Road | Booker, High Wycombe HP12 4RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in High Wycombe
Price Range: $63 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run B&B, warm welcome guaranteed. All rooms have Sky TV, Free parking, easy and fast access to M40 and A404 plus very close to cressex business park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Squirrel house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squirrel House High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing