We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited”
Review of The Bell

The Bell
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bell
Ranked #6 of 19 High Wycombe B&B and Inns
Billingshurst, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Visited”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a nice old listed-building pub, which has been converted to a Thai restaurant. The food is excellent, and the bar pleasant. From other reviews the accommodation sounds decidedly so-so, however. It was quite empty when I visited for evening meal and a beer, but the staff were very friendly. It's not obvious what this place's raison d'être is though. It doesn't seem to make it as a pub - being too 'restauranty'. It also doesn't seem to be hitting the mark as a restaurant either, which is strange, as I thought the food was great, but perhaps the 'ambience' is too 'pubby' - the main 'stand-up' bar being the centre piece of the establishment. I'm not sure it knows what it is, and perhaps no-one else does either... Still I've given it a 4/5 as the food was great, and the place it could be great with a bit more atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonPag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
4
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Went to the Bell as it has Fullers beer (the best beer in the world) and a really good and authentic Thai restaurant. (This review does not comment on the lodging aspect of the property).
We went for a pre-theatre meal as it's a short stroll from the Wycombe Swan. The service is very Thai, extremely polite and prompt. The menu choice ranges from a simple curry to a multiple course feast for less then £20. The food we ate was superb and generously portioned.
We will return to enjoy a longer meal next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dovinesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The best Thai food i have had outside of Thailand. Very friendly, kind staff and nice, cosy atmosphere. Could easily forget you were in High Wycombe...which is always a bonus! People of Wycombe, please support this brilliant restaurant :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Probably the best Tom yum soup I've ever had and very nice red curry. Nice. Service good but very quiet! Where is High Wycombe?

I've stayed in one of the rooms but a bit basic and lacking little things like bedside lamps. Cheap though!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philperrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Nice place for food criminally underused by locals. Great selection of Thai food including one or two didfferetn dishes. The red curry is great and liked the vegetables too. Nice staff and sparky boss - what more could you want?

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Philperrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Thai food at this pub is simply amazing. The best Thai food in the area. The staff are friendly, attentive and remember their customers. Thoroughly recommended for a lovely meal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beeza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2012

While the location can not be changed, the quality of service, cleanliness and attention of the staff is a world away from the previous reviews. The new staff are governed by a company which has over 30 years' experience in the catering, pub & restaurant trade (14 separate establishments in the UK, inclusive of the well known Thai Orchid group, plus a couple of pubs within the same region), and it shows in their attitude towards their customers.
If you pop in just for a drink, be prepared for the cheeky, but friendly attitude of the bar staff. The food is good value, particularly the Sunday lunch buffet, where all dishes are regularly refreshed, meaning that you never find a congealed, cold hot-dish (eat as much as you like, by the way, and the starters are superb - I could happily fill several plates with the starters alone, and go home happy). And yes, I am a customer, not a member of staff!

Room Tip: Request a room at the rear where possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachaphoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these High Wycombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge High Wycombe Central
Travelodge High Wycombe Central
#3 of 14 in High Wycombe
390 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Court Hotel
Ambassador Court Hotel
#5 of 14 in High Wycombe
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbey Lodge Hotel
Abbey Lodge Hotel
#9 of 14 in High Wycombe
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rye Court Hotel
Rye Court Hotel
#6 of 14 in High Wycombe
14 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4
1.0 mi away
Clifton Lodge Hotel
Clifton Lodge Hotel
#12 of 14 in High Wycombe
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell

Property: The Bell
Address: Frogmoor, High Wycombe HP13 5DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in High Wycombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Bell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing