We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a conference venue”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in High Wycombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lane End Conference Centre
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in High Wycombe
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice place for a conference venue”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Pleasant little room, very clean. This room especially interesting because it is on the conference venue. I will remember above all the friendliness of the staff and food quality. With the sun in the sky all the week, it was very pleasant to drink a beer at the end of day on the large terrace with a lovely views of the park

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11release
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaneEndCC, Manager at Lane End Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
It's been a year since you visited Lane End but I just wanted to comment and say Thank You so much for your feedback and especially for commenting on the friendliness of our staff. I am delighted to let you know that nothing has changed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    35
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I co-ran a conference for 35 people over a weekend here (Friday afternoon - Sunday afternoon).

The conference centre is set in its own grounds in a rural location about an hour, door to door, from central London and about forty minutes by taxi from Heathrow. This proved very convenient for those coming on public transport and by air.

We were running the conference as a not-for-profit with all proceeds going to charity. Lane End offered us a very competitive 24-hour rate which included use of conference facilities, hot/cold buffet breakfast, cold buffet lunch and a two-course dinner, unlimited tea and coffee, and snacks served mid-morning and mid-afternoon.

We were given Wycombe Lodge for sole use. The building has the conference facilities and bedrooms under one roof. We filled all 35 rooms, which were all en-suite with a small double and the usual trappings you get at a decent hotel.

We had use of one large conference room, one smaller meeting room and four break-out rooms. The conference rooms have everything you need - projectors, tv screens and flip charts are all included in the price. In addition, our building had a separate dining area, lounge and bar. There are also gym facilities and a games room which some of our delegates made use of, as well as a small golf-course.

Over the weekend, the staff were helpful and friendly, the rooms were cleaned overnight, and the food was excellent.

In the lead up to the event, communication was mostly good with just a few hiccups when work was passed to a more junior member of staff who dropped the ball a few times.

I would have given Lane End a five star rating if not for the debacle that occurred on the Sunday night.

Because over half the delegates had travelled from overseas, around a third of them paid to stay over on Sunday night after the conference had ended. They were each charged £90, but this was was for B&B only.

We were told in correspondence that they could get good food at the local gastro-pub, but discovered the pub doesn't serve food on Sunday evenings. This meant we had to resort to driving 15 miles round trip to High Wycombe for pizza. Although there were staff on site, none were in our building, which meant the tea/coffee didn't get replenished. In addition, they refused to come and open the bar, so we had to resort to walking across the site, in the rain, to a vending machine for drinks, including water. The vending machine only worked if you'd swiped your credit card at reception on check-in, which only two of those staying over had done. Needless to say, we weren't impressed.

If you're considering running a conference, if it's during the week, I'd highly recommend Lane End, but I'd steer clear of them if you're looking to stay over on a Sunday. The high cost of the rooms on Sunday (£90 for B&B) and the dreadful service on Sunday evening is the reason we won't be returning to Lane End. They're not equipped to deal with people staying over on Sundays and we were made to feel like intruders. It's a shame because this spoiled what was otherwise a good event.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaDLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaneEndCC, Manager at Lane End Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. It's now been a year since our conversations about the constructive points you made I just wanted to reassure you that we have taken everything on board you said and made the necessary improvements. It was a great pleasure having your organisation back in August 2013 and I am glad to report that we have received wonderful feedback from the organiser. We hope to welcome you back again at some point in the future. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here for several nights for a conference (of course). The room was quite comfortable, bright and airy--the windows open!--and the bed was comfortable. There was ample room to store things and a quite nice bathtub that I hadn't been expecting.

The food here is delicious. I was expecting mediocre conference centre food but pleasantly surprised; it was all wonderful! Also enjoyed the games room, in which there is pool, snooker, table tennis and the like, and a vending machine where can be had anything from small bottles of whiskey to a 'visitor to the UK' plug adapter. The gym was nice as well, with equipment in good shape and well-kept. The area is pleasant and there's plenty of space to sit outside and enjoy the occasional snippets of sunshine.

Service was friendly, and we were generally left to our own devices to get on with things, which for the most part was great. There were a few small things--the night of our big dinner, nobody was manning the bar beforehand so my lovely, lovely salmon dish was tragically unaccompanied by any wine. The last night we also had no one at the bar, and the coffee/tea supply had dried up, so we were stuck with the only-occasionally-functional vending machine (which only had a few drinks left in it; we had to have a contest for the last diet Coke).

All in all a quite enjoyable time and I was impressed, I just do wish I could have had a glass of wine with that lovely fish.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cathteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed here for a week for a residential course. The facilities as excellent, and having a 9 hole golf course keeps you busy. The staff here are great, very helpful and friendly. The room was nice and very clean. They put on a barbecue for us one night which was very tasty.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliver o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaneEndCC, Manager at Lane End Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, especially the golf and barbeque! We hope to have the privilege to welcome you back to Lane End sometime in the near future.

Best Regards
Heni Fourie | Sales & Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The quiet location, well organised out door activities.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaneEndCC, Manager at Lane End Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for the kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed our facilities and the peaceful surroundings. We hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Kind Regards
Heni Fourie | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

The venue may appear 'institutional' on the surface (it was a school in the past after all) but that is where the label ends. Don't compare this venue to a luxury hotel in your expectations. However, for one with the experience of delivery courses and conferences in the most luxurious of hotels in the world over the past thirty years, Lane End can put many of those to shame. If you are charged with running a conference, course or workshop, these folk at Lane End have got it absolutely right. They know their business and deliver to organisers' and participants' requirements. They are proactive and attentive, anticipating as they do, emerging needs. They have the kit, the layout and the know-how. The organisation exudes excellent teamwork amongst the staff throughout. They are friendly, courteous and cheerful whilst maintaining real professionalism. Well done, and thanks.

Room Tip: Don't expect five-star hotel luxury. The bedrooms are small, but fit for purpose - it is a confe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gladys70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaneEndCC, Manager at Lane End Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for the great comments. We appreciate your feedback, it is a great and accurate account of everything Lane End stands for. We hope to welcome you back to Lane End again sometime in the near future.

Kind Regards
Heni Fourie | Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Lane End Conference centre is the perfect place to stay for our travelling Staff, the location is perfect, the service is friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean with broadband availability.
The facilities are useful as our guys like to keep fit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these High Wycombe hotels
3.3 mi away
Ambassador Court Hotel
Ambassador Court Hotel
#5 of 14 in High Wycombe
72 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4
3.7 mi away
The Fox Country Inn
The Fox Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Ibstone
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Rye Court Hotel
Rye Court Hotel
#6 of 14 in High Wycombe
14 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Kings Hotel
The Kings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stokenchurch
474 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge High Wycombe Central
Travelodge High Wycombe Central
#3 of 14 in High Wycombe
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lane End Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lane End Conference Centre

Property: Lane End Conference Centre
Address: Church Road | Lane End, High Wycombe HP14 3HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in High Wycombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 26 acres of the rolling Chilterns countryside with easy access from the main motorways, this conference centre truly benefits from the best of both worlds, offering residential accommodation and meeting facilities that is second to none. The conference venue is set in a peaceful environment and is only 30 miles from London with ample free parking and free broadband access on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lane End Conference Centre Hotel High Wycombe
Lane End Conference Centre High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing