We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty bathroom, worst I've ever experienced, unchanged sheets”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in High Wycombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Three Horseshoes Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 High Wycombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Stayed here for a romantic night away from home with my wife. We stayed once before about three years ago when Simon Crawshaw had just taken over, and had a great stay in one of the main rooms - genuinely enjoyable. Sadly standards have slipped and we had to endure unchanged sheets on the bed and the dirtiest bathroom imaginable.

We only live 30 mins away but thought it would be nice to not have to drive or take taxis home, so booked to stay in the India Room, all that was available. We arrived early Saturday evening. We were shown to the India Room, which appears to be in a converted 2 car garage, by the friendly front of house manager. The room was very small, with an en suite in the left hand side of a closet. After the manager had set the air con for us and then left, my wife pulled back the sheets on the bed to discover a range of thick black hairs in the bed. Clearly, the sheets had not been changed. Yuck. She then went to use the bathroom, and discovered that the toilet was coated with the remnants of someone else's visit. Disgusting. Now being alerted to the fact that the entire room had not been cleaned, she checked the shower and found the tray area to be full of black hairs, of various unpleasant origins.

I found the front of house manager, who said he would be over straight away to sort out the problem. All well and good, and we were happy with the prompt attention. He arrived with a waitress armed with blue paper roll and they set to sorting the problem, suggesting we go and have a drink in the bar while we waited, which we did. Eventually the room was declared clean so we went back to get changed for dinner. Of course, we double checked. Bed - appeared clean. Toilet - cleaned. Shower tray - still thick with black hairs. Yuck. I then had cause to throw something in the bin in the bathroom , and found the blue roll which had been used to clean the dirty toilet. Not pleasant. I cleaned the shower tray with some toilet paper - very unpleasant.

Trying to make the best of a bad situation, we dressed quickly for dinner and went over to the main pub. We were shown to our seats next to the kitchen, but found that while we were reaidng the menu, blasts of cold air kept hitting us every time one of the serving staff opened the kitchen door. We asked to be moved (now fearing we had a reputation for complaining!) and were shown to a seat on the other side of the restaurant. Dinner was good - the food was excellent and good value, and the service was understated yet attentive. Full marks for the food and service at dinner.

So to bed. Yet more bathroom cleanliness woes - the toothmug was thick with old toothpaste, and lip marks around the rim! Yuck!

Breakfast was good, excepting the 'freshly baked croissants' which were in fact those croissants from Tesco and the like which come in cellophane wrappers, heated in a microwave - 'freshly baked' is stretching it. Otherwise, breakfast was good too.

We came to pay and upon being presented with the bill, found that a 5% service charge had been applied to both our meal in the restaurant, and to the room! I have never been asked to pay a 'service charge' for a room in my life. We questioned this and had it promptly removed from the bill. Clearly, there was a lack of communication between the various parts of the business as had the story of the disgusting bathroom been circulated, I doubt whether anyone would have the gall to attempt to charge a 5% service charge for a wholly unsatisfactory, unhygienic and filthy bathroom.

When we explained why were unhappy with the room, the person to whom we were paying our bill did not apologise but simply stated she would let the manager know.

Needless to say, our 'romantic evening' was a ruined. We will never again stay in The Three Horseshoes. We had thought of taking my wife's parents for lunch when they come to stay with us at Christmas, but now feel that the lack of cleanliness, and the lack of courtesy shown by the staff over the incident, has soured our impressions of the The Three Horseshoes and we will not stay or eat here again. Avoid.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marzipan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

102 - 106 of 106 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2009

I booked our return trip to stay here on the Saturday of the bank holiday weekend as a treat for my boyfriend's birthday, paid a £75 deposit on a £95 room two and a half months in advance. I called and spoke to them directly, and was advised to book online which I did. Imagine my horror when I received a call at 6:50pm on the Saturday (when we were 5 minutes from checking in at the Inn) to tell us they had double booked the room, the Inn was full, and we could not stay. After a very uncomfortable discussion in the pub in front of about 20 bemused guests, we extracted a refund of our deposit, and directions to a nearby pub they had found which had a room free. Michael at the Three Horseshoes did all he could and apologised profusely, but at the end of it they cannot escape that they double booked us on a holiday weekend in the middle of the countryside.
The other Inn was clean and very friendly, but it was certainly not of the standard of the room we had booked and not a place we would have chosen to stay for a bank holiday celebration weekend. Also, they could only accommodate us due to a last minute cancellation. Otherwise we would have been without a room on a bank holiday weekend in the middle of the Chilterns.
I decided to leave this review after being informed by the owner of the replacement accommodation that this was far from the first time he had "helped them out" after the Three Horseshoes double booked. Apparently we were not the first guests to make the drive up the hill to what seems to be becoming the overflow accommodation.
I do not see what more I could have done to actually secure a booking after using the accommodation's own website to book, and making two calls to the place directly as well, not to mention the large deposit I paid. The question is, do you really want to be in the middle of the Chilterns only to be told that your room has gone despite leaving a very large deposit over 2 months before?? No explanation for the double booking was ever given. There are so many other lovely places in this area of the world with a booking system that works. We will certainly not attempt to be back.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
3  Thank tal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Stayed for a Saturday night as the focus of a getaway/walking weekend. The location, in the Chilterns Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, could not be better - the Chiltern Hills at their most picturesque, with plenty of good (if a bit hilly) walking (hiking for our US cousins). The pub has been stylishly and tastefully updated to be a gourmet pub/restaurant with B&B accommodation while still retaining its 250 years of character and ambience. We stayed in the Loxbourough - upstairs from the bar. Ultra-comfortable super-king bed and all other facilities as expected. From our initial welcome to departure the following day the staff were uniformly welcoming, helpful and friendly. The food - from award-winning chef Simon Cranshaw - was simply outstanding: a short but imaginative menu full of flavour from start to finish. The wine list is similarly well-focussed and imaginative.

Breakfast the following morning continued the high standard. Fruit compote, fresh fruit, choice of cereals and juices, and a choice of cooked breakfasts too. We had the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. Eggs (locally sourced) just right - creamy but not sloppy; salmon that melted in the mouth. The breakfast was enough to keep us going for most of the rest of the day, despite a 3 hour walk!

If you want to experience the best of English country pub dining and accommodation, you should go there!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenspecs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

Stayed at the Three Horseshoes with a mate back in April as we were watching Wasps and it is (reasonably) close to the ground. One night, mid-week stay and a bit of a flying visit, but as there is only one other review for this place it's probably worth me sharing my views.......

Location is fairly isolated, being down some fairly narrow country lanes and pretty much out on it's own. Very quiet and peaceful, but if you want to stroll round shops and eat at different places you'll have to be prepared to drive.

Property itself is very pretty, in a typical English country pub sort of way. Inside it is cosy / small, and has the classic beams, fireplaces, low ceilings you would expect. Service was excellent, and the lady I saw in the evening and at breakfast (owner / manageress?) couldn't have been more helpful.

I stayed in the Molieres Suite, and my friend was in one of the Garden rooms (Ella I think. The room, not my friend). Molieres was a nice enough room with a separate lounge area, albeit it was all a bit cramped. This is to be expected in such an old property, and as I was only there for 1 night by myself it was fine, but I would think twice about staying for a few nights with my wife. Think I'd want a bit more room. I would certainly advise against trying to sleep 4 people in there (2 in the lounge area), as is suggested on their website. Can't comment on the Garden Room as I didn't see it, but feedback from friend was it was fine.

My feeling is that most people probably come here for the food rather than the rooms, as it is run by a well regarded chef who has worked in several top restaurants. Unfortunately we did not have the time for dinner, but the menu looked fantastic. However, I did make breakfast in the morning, which consisted of a selection of soft fruits, (home made) museli, yogurts, etc, along with various cooked options. All of which was exceptional, and far better than I would normally expect in any quality of hotel. Based on this I imagine dinner would be superb.

Hope this helps some people make an informed choice. My recommendation would be to go for dinner and book a room, so you can enjoy the food & wine without having to drive home.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Lassen sie sich überraschen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these High Wycombe hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown at Radnage
The Crown at Radnage
#1 of 19 in High Wycombe
148 reviews
8.6 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe / Beaconsfield Hotel
5.6 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Kings Hotel
The Kings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stokenchurch
515 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Fox Country Inn
The Fox Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Ibstone
290 reviews
3.3 mi away
George & Dragon
George & Dragon
#1 of 1 in West Wycombe
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Horseshoes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Horseshoes Inn

Address: Bennett End Horseshoe Road, High Wycombe HP14 4EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in High Wycombe
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The 3 Horseshoes Inn
The Three Horseshoes Hotel High Wycombe
The Three Horseshoes Inn High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing