We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch - a special treat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in High Wycombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Three Horseshoes Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 High Wycombe B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Sunday lunch - a special treat”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Finding somewhere decent for Sunday lunch where you can take a dog too is not easy and it didn't look to start with that we would have any luck with the Three Horseshoes as they were fully booked. But much to our surprise I was called back to say they would be able to accommodate us but had a booking for six at 2.30. Well that was no problem for us and so we duly arrived at about 12.30 and were directed to a cosy table by the log fire. Having served us drinks our dog was offered his own bowl of water. Sunday lunch was both delicious and great value, so much better than the usual pub offering; service being commensurate with a busy pub at Sunday lunchtime. We will be back I'm sure. The dog enjoyed his treat too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    22
    9
    10
    12
See reviews for
20
44
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had our wedding here in July 2012 - beautiful. All the staff were very helpful and worked very hard to ensure that our day was perfect. Our guests were very happy with the food and accommodation - we had no complaints. The chefs were very happy to make adjustments to the menu to ensure we had what we wanted. Could not complain about anything - even the weather was beautiful!! A thoroughly enjoyed day by all.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely - if you want a lovely view choose the garden room. If you want space for a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalB2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinner
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have been to The Three Horseshoes many times, but after a six month gap will not be going again. Saturday lunch was a disaster. We were supposed to be having a family celebration, but there was only one waitress who was hardly assisted by the manager who never seems to take much much interest. Most of the time we were ignored and unable to get any service, If it had been just my wife and I we would have out after half an hour but then we finally got some attention. It would have been nice to have a roll and a drink - particularly as we had a young child with us.
The main dishes were ok, but I would have preferred freshly cooked chips, served hot. Ours were neither. The rolls were presumably left over from the previous day.
The final joke was that the bowl of sugar was 50% salt, which was horrid in coffee. No apology was given.
I asked for a dirty meat knife to be replaced. This simply produced a comment that somebody must have used it for butter!
I don't really know what the manager was doing - even when he saw us calling we were ignored. We received a bill, but after a long wait, and again being ignored, I had to go to the bar to make payment. No question as to whether we had enjoyed the meal - just a continuing surliness approaching rudeness. I said that we had not been very impressed, but was told that they were very busy. Even if true, which it wasn't, an apology might have been in order.
Neither us, nor other diners that we spoke to in the car park, will be going there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank priesthorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in the Ella Garden Room. Room was well cleaned each day and the biscuits and hot chocolate provided were a nice touch. The view from the room together with the private patio were great. Breakfast was included and the food was of very good quality with locally sourced meat and eggs.
From my own stay, I can highly recommend this establishment and I shall definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ella Garden Room - Although slightly small, the decoration was modern and refreshing. The private pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CX777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We went to the restaurant on a semi busy Saturday evening. The food was excellent and very well priced. However, the service was ridiculously slow. As other reviews have stated the ladies toilets were dirty and not in the same state of cleanliness as other parts of the pub. How such a nice restaurant can be let down by fundamental basics is very confusing, especially when the MItchelin star Sir Charles Napier is 1 mile up the road.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Visited this country pub / restaurant - wirh dogs- on a rainy day. Beautiful location on rolling children countryside. But unfortunately nothing else to recommend it. The manager had had a personality by-pass. We were not offered water for the dogs. The menu was pretentious with minute nouveau cuisine portions. But lacking the exquisite tastes that are supposed to go with that. I had goats cheese mousse. It tasted like a very bland light goats cheese. We had fish and chips after that. The fish had a nice light batter but the chips were cold thin limp things. The mushy peas were about a thimbleful. We had to request condiments. To make it all just that bit worse, tinny disco music was looping in the corner. The dining room has a nice outlook but as we h ad dogs we were stuck in a dark corner. We were the only customers and were made to feel unwelcome , so avoid avoid avoid.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SweetBlackAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This pub with rooms is conveniently located 10 minutes travel from Junction 5 of the M40
I stayed here one night to be north of the chaos caused by M4 being closed , the beer is good, the food excellent ( and reasonably priced ) and there is a great view across the valley from the rear garden and restaurant . This is a quality gastro pub in a pleasant and quiet location , ignore the comments in previous review regarding narrow access , you could drive a tank along the country lanes approaching the Three Horseshoes without suffering scratched paintwork .
The only minor niggle for me was that the bedroom was a bit small , true it did contain a double bed , but there was very little space remaining , however as all time spent in the room was sleeping time it didn't matter much .

Room Tip: the rooms that look out onto the rear garden have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter-Maureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Wycombe
1.5 mi away
The Kings Hotel
The Kings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stokenchurch
473 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Fox Country Inn
The Fox Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Ibstone
260 reviews
8.2 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Peacock
The Peacock
#1 of 1 in Henton
216 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Lambert Hotel
The Lambert Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lewknor
605 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ambassador Court Hotel
Ambassador Court Hotel
#6 of 14 in High Wycombe
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Horseshoes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Horseshoes Inn

Property: The Three Horseshoes Inn
Address: Horseshoe Rd, Bennett End, High Wycombe, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in High Wycombe
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Three Horseshoes Hotel High Wycombe
The 3 Horseshoes Inn
The Three Horseshoes Inn High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing