We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms in beautiful English countryside”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in High Wycombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Three Horseshoes Inn
Ranked #5 of 18 High Wycombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We booked all 6 rooms at the pub for a girlie get-together following a day out in London. The rooms are beautiful (if a little snug when you're sharing - only one room has twin beds!), the surroundings idyllic and the restaurant is a really welcoming space serving good gastro pub fare. The staff could not have been more helpful when I was organising the event, working with me to create our own menu and doing a deal on room rates because we were eating at the restaurant and booking out all the rooms. Having done a pre-trip to check the place out, my husband and I can also confirm it works wonderfully as a romantic getaway - waking up to glorious views of the English countryside before a good long walk and then a lovely meal with great wine!

Room Tip: Ella and India rooms are in a new pretty brick and flint building just outside the pub - they overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VLHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 106 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

The front of this building oozes history, yet everything meets modern day standards of comfort and cuisine. Stay in the Moliere Suite to imagine what it would be like in the 1700s. Then visit the Radnage Church to read about the publican who worked and lived there. A surprise awaits you.
A little expensive but worth every penny. Breakfast is included and not to be missed. The freshly baked croissants melt in the mouth and the full breakfast plus cereal and fruit is hard to beat.
A good picture is the telephone box submerged in the lake, a charmingly unusual water feature.
The whole experience was wonderful and we will return.

Room Tip: Loxborough for romance. Overlooks the garden Moliere Suite for history and a sitting room with sofa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We had picked The Three Horseshoes as a great location for walking and a midpoint between us and friends from Cambridge. We arrived 15 minutes before opening at 11:45; the welcome could have been more enthusiastic. We got over this quickly as we enjoyed beautifully prepared chicken and bacon sandwiches and fresh courgette soup. Well fed we headed off for a walk, to enjoy The Chilterns and to work up an appetite for dinner. En route we discovered the Sir Charles Napier, primarily an upmarket restaurant with helicopter access - enough said! We enjoyed Wadworths 6 x straight from the barrel and made to feel very welcome. Hoped to eat here before our long weekend was over, but it didn't happen. Back to the Horseshoes! We had a superb dinner. Beautifully cooked turbot and sea bream, fresh vegetables. Breakfast next morning was just as good. Cereals served with mixtures of fresh fruit, fresh, light croissants, good coffee. Ok guys we have 10 miles to walk, time to drag yourselves away. Our room was well appointed with plenty of drawer and hanging space, a functional en suite. It lacked a bit of space, as we like to sit and read for a couple of hours between the end of our walk and dinner. We will return.

Room Tip: If you want an area to sit and read choose the Molieres
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuaySmithTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Took some friends for lunch and were very disappointed. We have eaten here many times and were looking forward to our meal. The cutlery and glasses looked grubby, the service lacklustre and the food nowhere near the normal standard. The bin in the ladies toilet was full of empty toilet roll holders and covered in dust, it looked as if it hadn't been touched for weeks. Sorry Three Horseshoes - you need to up your game to get back to your previous high quality.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Just had another great weekend at The Three Horseshoes for 2 nights. Had lunch on the Friday - homemade burger and fries - lovey and moist, meaty and filling!! Saturday dinner - the steak was superb with the fat chips!! Veal with sauteed wild mushrooms was lovely - tender meat in an exquisite sauce. Breakfast was varied - fruit, croissants, english breakfast and toast with lots of cereals to choose from! The staff here are very accommodating and helpful and food from the kitchen was incredible - we will be back soon!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Loxborough - very quiet - nice room with big bed and ensuite bathroom with bath and sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SalB2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

A beautiful location and a wonderful sunny day, what more could we want? Good food is the answer! The fact that the service was efficient and the waitress pleasant could not compensate for the fact that the food was not even of average standard. Eating out should be a treat and you should not be thinking you could do better yourself! Bland overcooked fish served with new potatoes that appeared to have been reheated in a microwave is just not acceptable. The fact that the fish is on a bed of kale and has a smear of pea puree alongside it does not fool a customer into thinking that the food is superior! My husband, I should add, said his risotto was excellent so it wasn't a completely bad experience.

Room Tip: We did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hermione42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Sorry to say rather a disappointing experience when it could have been the opposite. This is a lovely pub in an idyllic setting and has been nicely refurbished (although springs were coming through on the chairs!!) but did not provide that 'something special'. Welcome and overall service was luke warm and definitely lacking in sophistication - and food, although presented well, was average and bland and not value for money. This venue needs to pull its socks up if it wants to compete with other restaurants of the same ilk in the area (take for example, The Three Crowns at Askett which is streets ahead). I really wanted to enjoy the evening but felt let down by bad overall management.Please take note! Thank you.

Room Tip: we did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank stellaOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these High Wycombe hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown at Radnage
The Crown at Radnage
#1 of 18 in High Wycombe
143 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Kings Hotel
The Kings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stokenchurch
506 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Fox Country Inn
The Fox Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Ibstone
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4
8.6 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe / Beaconsfield Hotel
3.3 mi away
George & Dragon
George & Dragon
#1 of 1 in West Wycombe
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Horseshoes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Horseshoes Inn

Address: Bennett End Horseshoe Road, High Wycombe HP14 4EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in High Wycombe
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The 3 Horseshoes Inn
The Three Horseshoes Hotel High Wycombe
The Three Horseshoes Inn High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing