We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just don't seem to be enough staff at lunch-time”

Frankie & Benny's New York Italian Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #137 of 216 Restaurants in High Wycombe
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Just don't seem to be enough staff at lunch-time”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Really think the food here is great value, especially lunch-times. Always have a good time. Just note if you are going to cinema next door, make sure they know first, so you don't miss the start of your film. Also burgers take atleast 20 mins to cook. We waited 25 minutes today. I thought that was just a bit too long.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maisy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    61
    81
    42
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food but service is poor”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Food is good but the wait times are poor. What adds salt to the wounds is that your waiting for your food in a not so busy lunch time and you can see it under the lamps being walked past by every waiter in the restaurant. When asking for the bill do it when they bring your dinner otherwise its a long wait before they come back to you

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bennnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fine if you have time on your hands.”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Good food, and your typical F&B set up. Absolutely lovely if you're not in a rush, and have all night to catch up with family you might be taking out for a treat. Good value Monday-Friday menu, too. Wouldn't recommend it if you have somewhere to be, as we tried to have a quick work lunch there once, and after 20 minutes, hadn't been given our drinks, let alone order food, so we left. Tends to be busy, so don't go if you're starving!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryLeBone24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not great...”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We are not really the type to go to chains such as these as you can find reasonably priced meals elsewhere however we had been shopping and wanted a quick meal.

We had to queue to get a table and were seated next to a large 30th birthday - we were then moved. When our food arrived it was cold and we had seen it sitting on the counter for quite some time. Whilst the staff were very pleasant the food was not great.

The meal should have been very cheap but actually wasn't as the drinks were overpriced.

We wont be going back....

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were on a short break to the Chilterns and stayed in the Travelodge High Wycombe. Not knowing the town, we decided to have a look for an evening meal and as we had a busy day, we did not want to drive. In the Eden Centre, near to the Travelodge (5-10m walk), we found Frankie and Bennys, which is near to a cinema and bowling alley.
We had no problems getting a table as we were eating at 7pm on a Thursday night, so not too busy. The music was not too loud as it had been turned down and we only had one birthday (cant understand why one reviewer found this a problem as part of atmosphere).
The food was piping hot and fairly standard Frankie and Benny's fare. My partner and I shared a Boston 7 Pizza and some cheese and bacon chips which were nice. What is a shame compared to some restaurants is that the drinks are fairly expensive and the coke does not have free refills (like harvester/toby etc) - In that way its not authentic new york as they often do in USA!
It was nice to have somewhere nice to eat and get dressed up for dinner as an alternative to the bar/cafe in the Travelodge. I would say its one of the better Frankie and Bennys i have been to, but they are all very much the same standard. I suppose if you live locally would be handy if you want to get some dinner pre or post cinema or bowling or after shopping.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daru500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie & Benny's New York Italian Restaurant & Bar also viewed

High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Frankie & Benny's New York Italian Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing