We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value, great setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Watermead Inn

The Watermead Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Watermead Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 144 Restaurants in Aylesbury
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Æglesburgh at the Watermead Inn is a well-established pub loved by many and is often referred to as the 'Mead'Located close to the centre of Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire. We hold a prime location situated on Watermead's picturesque lakeside. Æglesburgh is a comfortable vintage venue with a relaxing atmosphere serving excellent food and drink all day, ideal for visitors, businesses, local people and families.
Holland-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Living and working in Watermead thought we would try the local bar/restaurant. Had a great meal served by yery helpful staff. Went back a few days later to try the three courses for ten pound meal. Excellent value, do not expect large portions but what you get is great food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 998jacquia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    50
    34
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great pub, great food - very community spirit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

This pub has a lovely atmosphere with great food at decent prices with really nice staff, being a young family ourselves, we feel we can take our little one there for the odd bite to eat without feeling awkward, and when we do, we get a warm welcome from all the staff. The Landlord also put's on festival parties in the morning for young children, such as; Easter egg hunts and Christmas parties – this is a strong traditional community building effort, something chain pubs could never do in my opinion.

Evening in the pub, with the lights dimmed has an upmarket feel and feel we can equally go there later in the day for more sophisticated dining experience. (if we have a baby sitter)

To sum up - the pub is in a superb location with the lake being so close, for us it's a little escape from Aylesbury but without actuality having to leave Aylesbury! Good job Aeglesburgh Inn.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Birthday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

I went to this lovely venue for the first time today for my birthday lunch with my daughter and my 2 grandsons. It was wonderful, Anthony, our waiter was polite, informed and very amenable. The food was gorgeous and the views were to due for. We feed the ducks and geese after lunch and it was a great day. I will definitely be going again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacquiBaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingolstadt, Germany
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Service was great, the food delicious and the prices fair.
I've seen reviews complaining about the quite short menu... Well, all I can say is that I prefer quality over quantity every day. If you have the chance, you should definetly check it out.

Helpful?
Thank Fsg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great pub and restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We've been here many times now and it never fails to impress. The food is of a high standard, the service is impecable and the atmosphere is perfect for friends, families, couples. I would recommend The Watermead to everyone :-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francesca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Watermead Inn also viewed

Aylesbury, Aylesbury Vale
Aylesbury, Aylesbury Vale
 
Aylesbury, Aylesbury Vale
 

Been to The Watermead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing