We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet and comfy touring base”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Toad Hall Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Aylesbury, Aylesbury Vale, Buckinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HJMC1603
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet and comfy touring base”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Comfortable and clean with quality beds and linen. We enjoyed our stay, owner friendly and helpful day trips to Harry Potter tour (30 mins) and Oxford (50).
Will definitely stay again if we're heading back this way.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annettewy...
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed July 24, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We hired Toad Hall barn for our wedding night. Anne-Marie is lovely and very friendly. Helen looked after us on the night and was lovely too. The barn is absolutely gorgeous and we were sad we only had it for one night. We walked in to find a bottle of champagne left for us as a gift which was a lovely surprise. I would definitely book it again for family when they visit and would highly recommend it. Very comfortable living area and bedrooms. Couldn't have found a better place.

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshir...
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed June 14, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

As soon as the door was opened it was obvious that this was going to be a good stay. Stylish and comfortable but not to the extent that you felt afraid to touch anything. The youngest member of the party was made to feel very welcome and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for Ann Marie, the owner. OK, the single bathroom/toilet downstairs meant that a degree of coordination was required but this did not detract from the break. Close enough to the shops/pubs/restaurants of Aylesbury and the surrounding villages for convenience but in a quiet and undisturbed location.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen L
1 review
“Great Stay - Lovely Owners”
Reviewed November 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lovely setting - lovely facilities. Would highly recommend. Not far from Aylesbury and many other places.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tagpinasa...
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just right ...”
Reviewed October 13, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I needed somewhere to stay for a couple of nights while in the Aylesbury area on business. This rental was perfect for my needs ... it was lovely to have yummy breakfast treats left for me as well as orange juice, tea and coffee. The cottage was warm with plenty of hot water. I'd certainly return here if I was in the area. More convenient than a bed and breakfast, lovely to curl up on the soft sofas in the evening!

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable bed
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H11HVC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed September 15, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here as it was convenient for RAF Halton where we were going for my sons graduation. Ann-Marie was fantastic went over and above what was expected. The barn had all amenities. The only downside for us personally was we had my elderly parents with us and the bathroom downstairs wasn't very convenient for them however this was nothing other than a personal preference for ease and convenience other than that the barn was lovely. Would recommend and would love to stay again if I was in the area.

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mlmpmpa
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient Vacation Rental”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Our family of four, including two teenagers, spent five nights at Toad Hall Barn in late June 2016. This was a great option for us instead of staying in a small room at a hotel or B&B. The property is a converted barn accessed via a courtyard shared by the owner's home, garage and other buildings. There were sheep grazing in the nearby field.

We used this location as a base to see nearby St. Albans, Watford (Warner Bros. Harry Potter Tour), Aylesbury and Bletchley Park. We made day trips to Oxford and the Imperial War Museum at Duxford (and nearby Cambridge).

The inside of the property included:
First Floor:
- open floor plan including large sitting area with TV and plenty of comfortable seating space, kitchen area and table and chairs
- bathroom with toilet, sink and bathtub with shower attachment
- access to the adjacent garage where a washer/dryer is available

Second Floor (converted attic):
- main bedroom with large bed, no windows, one skylight
- second bedroom with large bed in one section and two twin beds in the other section; no windows, one skylight

Pros:
- The bed linens were clean and good quality
- The mattresses were very comfortable
- The second bedroom had a skylight with a blackout shade
- All the plumbing worked; plenty of hot water and good water pressure
- The kitchen sink, bathroom sink, toilet and bathtub were clean
- The free WiFi worked

Cons:
- The main bedroom skylight did not have a blackout shade. With the 4:30 am sunrises, this was a problem and we had to hang a blanket over the thin shade already on the window.
- There were multiple cobwebs throughout the property. These were mostly found in corners along the floor, walls and ceiling.
- A coating of dust was visible on some of the upstairs furniture; particularly the bedroom furniture in the second bedroom including the end tables, vanity and mirrors.
- The bathroom floor needs a good scrubbing.
- Active water damage visible on the walls in the bathroom.
- The second bedroom is adjacent to the main house and the walls are not really sound proof. One night it sounded like their washing machine and/or dryer was running from approximately 10 to 11:45 pm.

Date of stay: June 2016
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing