We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Lunch on the 04/08/13” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dog House Aylesbury

The Dog House Aylesbury
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aylesbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dog House Aylesbury
Ranked #19 of 32 Aylesbury B&B and Inns
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch on the 04/08/13”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We are a couple in our 40's and popped in for Sunday lunch, overall it was good value, we had the £9.95 rib eye meals. Broccoli and cauliflower were served in a lovely cheese sauce on the side and the carrots, cabbage and parsnips cooked beautifully. The only downside was the giant Yorkshire pudding as it was dry and hard ...may be better to serve smaller, fresher ones..

Place was shabby chic, clean and the staff really pleasant and relaxed. Would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTurlando4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
21
16
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Attended a wedding at the dog house..... Fantastic!!!!! The restaurant was layed out beautifully for the sit down meal after the ceremony.... The food was superb, the service excellent and the staff brilliant. After the speeches the staff quickly transformed the room ready for the disco to follow in the evening along with a fantastic buffet laid out for the evening guests.... The whole day and night was amazing... Couldn't complain about a thing... Lots of the guests stayed in the b&b for the whole weekend which was great and so convenient.... No travelling back and forth just a trip up the stairs... What a fantastic weekend had by all..... a great choice of venue... Will definitely be visiting again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 22031967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bierton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We live around the corner and the pub is normally quite quite. Why? The food is really good. Very fresh, freshly cooked and massive portions. Bar staff very friendly and helpful. All round good local.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Dog House is a fabulous place to eat or just relax with a drink. The staff are extremely friendly nothing is too much trouble, the Sunday roasts are smashing all home cooked and locally sourced. Have visited the Dog House on numerous occasions and every time our visit has been throughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This pub / restaurant is simply lovely! It sits in a peaceful location right on the broughton crossing just a few minutes drive from Aylesbury, I have eaten here a few times and the food is always outstanding! Cooked properly and from scratch it is always delicious and presented wonderfully, my daughter and I ate there last week and then sat outside on their elevated decking all evening, it was a lovely evening albeit to the food the service and the friendly manager and staff, will return again very soon and lots there after.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank joolst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bierton
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Being my local, I go into the Dog House regularly, thoroughly enjoying the food and the atmosphere. The food is superb; not only is it all fresh, local produce but it is cooked and presented beautifully. A personal favourite is the sirloin steak served with hand cooked chips and salad, a special treat. Alongside the roast dinners, with roast potatoes and huggge Yorkshire puds, a must try! The relaxed and helpful approach of all members of staff leads to an enjoyable meal out.
Secondly, when having a family gathering at my house we were short of space for people to stay, therefore I booked rooms in the Dog House for my family to stay in, as well as additional rooms booked in The Royal Oak, their sister pub. Both pubs were more than welcoming with all family members more than satisfied with their stay, stating that it was perfect for the occasion with great value for money. We then all gathered the following day for a large family roast in the Dog House, with good, attentive service and quality food. The garden outside was perfect for the children to burn off some steam before their long car journeys back home!
The Dog House is a definite must if you are looking for a good quality, good value stay and/or meal out with friends or family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelM0nkey93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Not sure if its always like this but we were there on a reasonable spring day and had to keep our coats on- it was pretty cold.

The food was really tasty though, generous, flavoursome portions.

The staff were friendly and there was more than enough nineties music in the back ground.

There's plenty of parking space.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylesbury
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Aylesbury Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#7 of 11 in Aylesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
3.0 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Tring Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dog House Aylesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog House Aylesbury

Property: The Dog House Aylesbury
Address: Broughton Crossing | Broughton, Aylesbury HP22 5AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Aylesbury
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated just outside of Aylesbury, the newly refurbished premises offers a comfortable location for patrons to relax and enjoy high quality food. Our location has the relaxed atmosphere of a country pub coupled with the convenience of easy access from Aylesbury town centre only 1 1/2 miles away. We have 4 fantastic bedrooms all recently refurbished to a high standard should you be needing some where to lay your head. So if you are looking for accommodation in the Aylesbury or Bucks area why not take a look at the Doghouse ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing