We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family atmosphere”

The Dog House Aylesbury
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aylesbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dog House Aylesbury
Ranked #12 of 21 Aylesbury B&B and Inns
Bierton
1 review
“Fantastic family atmosphere”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Being my local, I go into the Dog House regularly, thoroughly enjoying the food and the atmosphere. The food is superb; not only is it all fresh, local produce but it is cooked and presented beautifully. A personal favourite is the sirloin steak served with hand cooked chips and salad, a special treat. Alongside the roast dinners, with roast potatoes and huggge Yorkshire puds, a must try! The relaxed and helpful approach of all members of staff leads to an enjoyable meal out.
Secondly, when having a family gathering at my house we were short of space for people to stay, therefore I booked rooms in the Dog House for my family to stay in, as well as additional rooms booked in The Royal Oak, their sister pub. Both pubs were more than welcoming with all family members more than satisfied with their stay, stating that it was perfect for the occasion with great value for money. We then all gathered the following day for a large family roast in the Dog House, with good, attentive service and quality food. The garden outside was perfect for the children to burn off some steam before their long car journeys back home!
The Dog House is a definite must if you are looking for a good quality, good value stay and/or meal out with friends or family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelM0nkey93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    17
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
21
17
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Not sure if its always like this but we were there on a reasonable spring day and had to keep our coats on- it was pretty cold.

The food was really tasty though, generous, flavoursome portions.

The staff were friendly and there was more than enough nineties music in the back ground.

There's plenty of parking space.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Excellent food, clean rooms and well kept real ales. Good location near to Aylesbury and within easy walking distance of the Aylesbury Arm of the Grand Union Canal. Children and especially dogs welcome.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have been working away from home for years and have had a lot of digs. However, the doghouse has to be one of my favourites. I lodged there for 4 weeks while working at the ARLA site and loved every thing about the place. The location is spot on, it was a 5 minute drive from site and the same from aylesbury town centre, but it was still in a rural spot so no problems with noise. The room was fine for our needs, it has an en-suite and could sleep 3 grown men. there was a fridge in the room aswell as tv with freeview. The best thing about the place was the food, they do a special rate for guests with numerous meals off the menu at a discounted price meaning you get a proper home cooked meal, cooked fresh for only £6:95. You can also get 20% off the evening menue which is nice if you want to treat yourself to a great steak or mixed grill etc. The staff are friendly and will do anything to help. its good that you could have a laugh with them all as it can be quite quiet in there. I always headed back home at weekends but did hear rave reviews about their sunday roasts.

All in all, if you need a good place to stay with brilliant food then you need to be booking at the doghouse.

I notice that it is listed on here as a B&B however, please note that breakfasts are not provided and it is room only. Not a problem for me as this was made abundantly clear when we booked the room. A note to the owners would be to get it on here as a restaurant because i'm sure they would get much better reviews.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardgrafter1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay here but had Sunday lunch after a recommendation.

Three adults and on child (11 years old), we started with a portion of cheesy garlic bread and olives with bread to share between us. The garlic bread was two slices of thick white bread (that you would get from any supermarket) with some half melted cheese and very little garlic flavour, the olives were 'alright' in my partners words, the bread, mozzarella and sundried tomatoes that accompanied them also only 'alright'.

The main event - four Sunday roasts. Beef for the adults, chicken for the kids plus one MASSIVE Yorkshire pudding that held a lot of promise but unfortunately didn't deliver. The yorkie was impressive to look at but was horribly dry, I suspect it had been cooked much earlier, left out and then heated up in the oven, drying it out and making it all far too crispy. The beef was good, tender, juicy and not overcooked, chicken pretty dry and vegetables rather hit and miss, with the parsnips too hard but carrots and the cheesy broccoli & cauliflower being ok. Roast potatoes, a favourite for all of us, were a terrible let down, looking and tasting more fried than roasted.

And then we were daft enough to go for dessert!! (At £15 an adult for three courses we thought 'why not', but equally weren't expecting Michelin starred dining).

Ice cream for the youngest (included in the £4.95 price tag for a kids meal), no problem there. Two lemon cheesecakes and jam roly poly for the adults. The cheesecake was clearly not home made and didn't set the other two alight. The jam roly poly was tasty but not enough jam and also was definitely out of a box. Now I love JRP in most forms and custard is always a hit, but I still expect more when I go out to eat. I could have heated up the JRP and opened the tin of custard at home.....

A cheap meal and unfortunately the quality matched the low price.

Overall a poor show and we're reluctant to go back, unless my friend can assure us it was a one off!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have never stayed here but eaten here a few times, It certainly needs a bit of tlc but the staff are always friendly and helpful.
The times we have eaten here have always been fine.
Good sized portions (even for the hungry man) and cooked well though presentation is'nt a big wow but it's back to old fashioned pub grub.
Sunday lunches are always a busy time so make a booking and be amazed at the size of the yorkshire pud, only downside to this is the deep fried roasties.
Give it a go with an open mind food good with hots and lots.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2dinlowdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed at the Dog House for a couple of nights. Large bedroom in need of refurbishment - some pictures/paintings would improve the general ambience.

We ate both nights in the restaurant. Usual fare but it was well-cooked and presented. Breakfasts were good too.

Room Tip: A good base for touring - Woodstock, Blenheim Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Napoleoninrags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylesbury
3.1 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
666 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#3 of 6 in Aylesbury
723 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
469 reviews
1.3 mi away
Malt House Aylesbury
Malt House Aylesbury
#1 of 21 in Aylesbury
161 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Aylesbury Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dog House Aylesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog House Aylesbury

Property: The Dog House Aylesbury
Address: Broughton Crossing | Broughton, Aylesbury HP22 5AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Aylesbury
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated just outside of Aylesbury, the newly refurbished premises offers a comfortable location for patrons to relax and enjoy high quality food. Our location has the relaxed atmosphere of a country pub coupled with the convenience of easy access from Aylesbury town centre only 1 1/2 miles away. We have 4 fantastic bedrooms all recently refurbished to a high standard should you be needing some where to lay your head. So if you are looking for accommodation in the Aylesbury or Bucks area why not take a look at the Doghouse ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing