We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard, decent food and drink”

The Horse & Jockey Aylesbury
Ranked #65 of 267 Restaurants in Aylesbury
Price range: $5 - $19
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here twice. First time in the evening when the barmaid managed to deal successfully with some very rowdy customers who eventually left and the second time for breakfast. The interior has some genuine old features including a very low ceiling and its a comfortable area to sit and have dinner. The food was good value for money and well cooked and there was a pleasant atmosphere once the rowdies had left. Beers are well kept and good value especially if you’re a CAMRA member. Service was friendly and helpful and even though we were staying up the road in the Best Western, we came back for breakfast. Again, well cooked full English apart from the sausages which were woefully undercooked. Free tea and coffee refills.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review - I'm glad you had a great stay!

A shame we only made the three-star mark, if could get in touch at horseandjockeyaylesbury@emeberinns.co.uk to let us know how we could improve that would be brilliant, I promise to get onto the chef about those sausages!

Look forward to seeing you again on your visit to Aylesbury,

Kind Regards
Hayley and all the Jockey team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visiting my daughter we came here for breakfast & when next visiting I actually booked an overnight stay next door in the knowledge that the horse & jockey served lovely food & is a perfect bar for an evening drink & meal too Thank you. We will return. Young staff very friendly.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank annie4444_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Annie,

Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review. We're really pleased to have such fab feedback.

Look forward to seeing on your mext visit to see your daughter - Maybe book in for a meal with us too!

Kind Regards
Hayley and all the Jockey team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020 via mobile

Had a few hours to kill in Aylesbury with the doggo and this pub came up as the first result for dog friendly pubs.

Service was very attentive whilst also being friendly and relaxed. Dog was well looked after by the young barmaid also.

Food was good value for money, simple but hot and tasty. Would definitely pop in next time we are in the area.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank A4060TSrichardc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We absolutely love seeing the wonderful different dogs that come to our pub! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Rachel, Shift Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2019 via mobile

I come here with my family on Christmas Day the food was awful the turkey was all fatty and the potatoes wasn’t roast potatoes they were just boiled and slung on a plate we was asked politely to leave after we had eaten are meal as there was a turn around .it’s Christmas don’t rush people and when it come to paying they didn’t know what bill was arse it was a shambles from start to finish

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank leewE1632UX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Horse & Jockey Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2019

Hi!

Can you please urgently contact me at horseandjockeyaylesbury@emberinns.co.uk? I am very shocked and confused by this review as all of our guests left fantastic feedback regarding Christmas Day and the team and I received no complaints whatsoever?

I look forward to hearing from you,

Kind regards,
Hayley Goodrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2019 via mobile

A very nice and cosy restaurant to dine in. We found it Very reasonably priced and a good standard of food. I'd definitely visit again. Nicely situated, we didn't feel rushed to order or eat despite the restaurant becoming very busy.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank ilovemy3girlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Horse & Jockey Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2019

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm glad you enjoyed our pub and the food we serve. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,
Rachel,
Shift Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horse & Jockey Aylesbury also viewed

Aylesbury, Aylesbury Vale
 
Aylesbury, Aylesbury Vale
 

Been to The Horse & Jockey Aylesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing